Come to the Spanish Pyrenees to help train my lovely dog!

new host

Favourited 23 times

  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/04/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    368

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    I am a 30 year old artist currently living in the Spanish Pyrenees in a town called Tuixent.
    I have a 3 year old dog called Mylo and need someone who is caring and disciplined to help me train him.

    I was born in Colombia and have lived in England, France and USA.
    I am a painter and yoga teacher.

    I am getting a small piece of land to be able to grow my own vegetables. This is the first time for me, so if you know anything about gardening/growing vegetables etc, I would appreciate it if you could teach me anything you know and help me with that!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    I need help training my dog Mylo. Someone who has experience training dogs and who loves animals.
    He is mixed breed and medium sized.
    Before moving to Tuixent, we lived in Ibiza in the countryside where I could just open the door for him. Here I have tried to teach him to walk with and off the leash. There has been some improvement during the last year, but I still find it hard to control him. If he sees another dog or cat he will not listen to me and runs after them. He tends to jump on people when greeting them. He is a domineering dog that does not get along with other males.
    I will also need you to take him out for walks and might need some help around the house.

    I will have my first vegetable garden soon so any help with that would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French and some Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Across the small patio from where I live there is an extra apartment where you will stay. I use the living room of this apartment as my art studio where I have big paintings everywhere. I don't use harsh chemicals inside, so you will not get any strong smells apart from the smell of oil paint. I open the windows every morning to get in some fresh air.

    There is a private room with a double bed with a beautiful view of the mountains. You will have your own bathroom with shower and your own kitchen with a fridge and oven.
    I spend everyday in the studio painting for a couple hours, while I listen to audiobooks.
    There is no tv in the apartment. I have wifi at home that does not really reach the apartment, though you are free to come to my place to use it. The wifi is only unlimited from 12am-7am so I try not to download movies during the day :) The cafe in town has wifi.
    I expect you to keep the room, bathroom and kitchen in a good clean state.

    I eat mainly organic and vegetarian food. I offer breakfast (sometimes it might be simple like toast, fruit and tea, and sometimes I like to make pancakes, french toast...) and a nice filling lunch. I will be happy to try some of your cooking :)

    I enjoy some wine every now and then, but do not want to host someone who drinks in excess or takes any substances.
    No smoking in the apartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About 50 people live here throughout the year. People tend to come up for the weekends and during the summer the town gets more busy.
    There is a cafe and a nice restaurant in town. There are no shops in Tuixent (so no banks, bakery etc)
    I do not have a car, so once a week I take a 1 hour bus ride to a much bigger town, La Seu d'Urgell, where I go to the market and for anything else I need.
    To get here you can take a bus from Barcelona to La Seu d'Urgell and then take the bus to Tuixent. There is only one bus that comes at 2pm from Monday to Saturday.
    If you have your own transport, that would be great for you to get around. The closest shops are in Gosol, about a 20min car ride.

    This is for someone who wants quiet and does not mind spending time alone.
    And please only contact me unless you have actual experience training dogs.

    I have done Workaway as a volunteer a couple times so I know that it helps to leave everything clear from the beginning :) If you have any other questions, please let me know!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will stay in this beautiful town which is known for the "Trementinaires", women who used to travel by foot selling medicinal herbs and creams. There are great hike trails and you can go for long walks with Mylo, where you will surely see a couple of cows. You will breathe some fresh air and drink untreated water straight from the mountains. It can get chilly at night, but the sun shines pretty much everyday.
    In Tuixent, you will find a museum dedicated to the Trementinaires and a botanical garden.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Tuixent in the background
the view from the patio
In the art studio
the view :)
yoga in the patio
Host ref number: 376297276517