Join our coastal New Zealand family in Auckland

updated
Country

New Zealand

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Who are we;
    We're a family of four, my name is Tanith and my husbands name is Owen. Our kids are Phoenix (6) and Elijah (4). We have a cat named Cat. And we live in Auckland, on the North Shore.

    A little bit about us;
    My husband is a Kiwi, born and raised while I grew up in South African but I've been here since I was child. We're a fun-loving family who enjoy getting creative, playing games, getting out in nature and we often watche movies. We've made friends for life having discovered work-aways and love having them here with us.

    The job will mostly be childcare, picking the kids up from school and caring for them while I study and/ work Away from home. So about the little humans; My daughter is all about unicorns, glitter, animals, forts and rainbows, she's an Artist and loves the create, read and write. My son is all about trucks, planes, cars, sports, games, puzzles and lego blocks. Both love being social and also require some restful space to themselves.

    My husband is a car painter. And I've been a stay at home mom who is studying to become a Barber /hair stylist. And us adults are much like our kids, only older. We're plant based/ vegan.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Within walking distance we have beaches all along along the coastline, as well as trail walks and reserves. There are local events all throughout the year such as free movies and music in the park during summer, cultural festivals all through the year to celebrate such as The Latern Festival to celebrate Chinese New Year (Feb) and Cape to Cairo (March) etc. Many vineyards on Waiheke Island that you can visit by catching a ferry from town. There are museums and art galleries in the City Central. I have quite a few more suggestions and books to help you plan your trip and what you'd like to do, as well as learn about the culture in NZ.

    I also try to stay informed about local events, I write these down on a whiteboard.

  • Help

    Help

    In exchange for accommodation and food including other living costs, we're looking for a work away that ideally would be staying a month or long term. Someone reliable who can commit to the dates they arrange with us, or in th event they can't to please give us time to make other arrangements for child care.

    We're looking for someone to do:

    - Childcare and School runs (morning and or afternoon)
    - light cleaning duties.

    The work-aways we choose must be gentle but firm with kids, trustworthy, self motivated and reliable.

    Please feel free to message us if you're interested or have questions, include a little about yourself and what you'd like to get out of your stay in New Zealand. We can video chat before deciding anything and see if we're on the same page. Please ask questions if you're unsure about anything.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 3 bedroom home with a medium sized bedroom for guests with a double bed, closet, drawers and shelves, as well as the use of our towels and the washing machine etc. We also borrow a bus card and house key, that must be returned before guests leave.

    Guests have the room furthest from the lounge and dining area making it the most peaceful. We have an air conditioning system for heating and cooling the whole house. There is a deck at the back and a balcony in the front of the house, the balcony gets all the sun in the morning and one in the backyard has a garden and is perfect for sunny days. There is room enough to have your own space should you need it.

    We're within walking distance to the beach, trail walks and reserves. I'd be happy to either show you on a map or walk with you.

    I provide accommodation food and reasonable living arrangements and you can help yourself throughout the day to what's in the fridge and pantry unless they're special treats for the kids (top shelf) . I will cook most of the dinner meals and occasionally we can take turns or do it together if you're at that time, it's a shared responsibility. I may also offer you food throughout the day if you're around and I've made something and I'll notify you of options in the fridge and pantry regularly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our local Awaruku Reserve has glow worms that you can see at night and people go in small groups to experience this safely. Beaches and trail walks everywhere. We are close to shopping centres with a library, leisure centres offering yoga, a pool and other fitness classes and a gym etc. Convenient bus routes.

    I can help you with your plans if you like, suggest Apps you can download on your phone such as bus, ferry and train schedules and other tips to make it easier to get around and see Auckland.

    In my spare time I have fun with my family or friends, do yoga, walk to the beach or go on a trail walk, exercise at home or watch movies. If you like doing these things, you can join me, we can be social and hang out or I can give you as much space as you like, we just want you be comfortable. We really enjoy the events that this area has on regularly especially during Summer. Most local events are smaller and the ones closer to the city or further away from us are larger, it's easy to travel by bus as the closest bus stop to us is a 1 or 2 minute walk and in our road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 days a week *️ 6 hrs a day:*️or *️25 hrs per week *️

In Auckland City, Myers Park. Eating soft serve ice-cream made from real Strawberries. Jan 2019.
Walking to part of Torbay / Waiheke Beach. Jan 2019.
Secret beach between Long Bay and Waiheke.
Part of the shore line between Long Bay and Waiheke beach. Local 'secret' beach. Jan 2019
Awaruku Bush Reserve.
Awaruku Bush Reserve.
Lantern Festival, Chinese New Year. Feb 2019
Artwork on the backyard.
In our backyard. Jan 2019
Christmas 2018



Host ref number: 362471615942