Couple wanted for help with horses on a clothes free eco site, near Ourique in Portugal

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    23/09/2016

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    277

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2016

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
show 2017




  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for a couple, any sex, and if you are happy to put animals first, love horses, nature, good food, want to learn, and live in a clothes free/optional environment, then this is could be the place for you.

    If, however, you want clubs and bars then is definitely not the place for you, as we live in the middle of the countryside.

    We are Richard and Caroline and our place is a fifteen minutes drive from the small pretty town of Ourique, in Portugal. Our place is set on 22 hectares of unspoiled, protected land with a small lake with our small friendly dog Missy, and six free roaming horses. Star, Mac, Nikita, Nikkei, Guinness, and Barney. Nikita and Nikkei are only a couple of years old and came from the wild. All of our horses have a story and they have all come to us for the rest of their lives.


    Caroline is a horse behaviorist and sorts out all sorts of equine problems, both with our and other peoples horses. We look after our horses naturally as possible, and they are free roaming, stable free. If you would like to learn how to look after horses in a natural way then is a golden opportunity. The animals always come first and our lives revolve around them.

    At the time of writing, none of our horses are ridable as they all need restarting, to varying degrees. But who knows!

    We are a eco friendly naturist place, and strife to recycle and reuse items wherever possible. We are working to be self sustainable, and are totally off grid. We work with nature and not against nature. So, what are we? This is a question that we have put to numerous workawayers who have passed through the gates of this magical place. The answer we get it is simply Richard and Caroline’s place, Richard and Caroline’s piece of paradise, Richard and Caroline’s magical place.

    In varying degrees our place affects everyone who sets foot on the land, and everyone takes something away with them. For some, it is life changing and for others it is something smaller. Some workawayers have returned to us within 24 hours of leaving and other have been back time and time again. Being drawn back to the magic of this special place.

    It is a laid back place where you can be in touch with yourself and nature. You can relax, be free and above all be yourself. You will a part of the family.

    As long as you love horses, the outdoors and love to be clothes free or want to try it for the first time, and are reasonably fit you will enjoy the various projects we are undertaking. However when it gets chilly it will be Richard who is the first person that puts on something warm. Many of the workawayers that have come to stay are first time naturists.

    Unless of course you have your own transport, we would offer to pick you up from the train station in Funcheira, or the bus station in Ourique. We can send you information on timetables etc, just ask for it. The nearest airport is Faro followed by Lisbon.

    What is the minimum stay? The minimum stay has to be a month, as we have found anything else is too short. There is no maximum stay.

    If you have any questions, no matter how silly you may think they are, please feel free to ask.

    The most import thing is that you must have a love for horses and want to learn.

    Have a look to see what people have said about us below in the feedback section.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We will accept people anytime of year. We will not expect you to help in the heat of the day. Unless of course it is work in the lake, Richard’s favorite job.

    The tasks we do will very much depend on the weather as it is supposed to be fun for us all.

    Some of the projects

    Help with the care and feeding of our horses

    Help with the shopping

    Weeding the lake

    Repairing tracks

    Clearing

    Maintaining the vegetable plot

    Land management

    Maintenance

    Plus numerous other jobs/projects

    IT HAS TO BE FUN FOR ALL OF US

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, rusty German and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation would be a luxury touring caravan, which is yours for the duration of your stay, or you can bring your own accommodation. We live in a caravan as well.

    Your caravan has a comfortable queen sized island double bed.  Everything you need is provided, including towels  

    There is a toilet, wash hand basin and shower in the caravan. It is fully
    Insulated, so it keeps cool in the summer and warm in the winter. There is hot water and heating. The heating is for some of those cold winter nights we get. However you will never need the heat on during the day in the winter.

    There is a also a small well equipped kitchen with a fridge and cooker so you can always make yourself a hot drink or snack.

    We eat continental style cuisine. We can cater for vegetarians but  sadly, we cannot cater for vegans.

    We have wireless internet connection and mobile phone signals are good. You can pick up the internet in the caravan. There is also a DVD player if you want to watch a film.

    If you have any questions just ask.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is important that everyone has their own insurance

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    Coming here is like stepping back in time. It is an opportunity of getting out of the rat race and live in a relaxed laid back environment, giving you the opportunity to be yourself. It is a place where everyone still says hello and goodbye. Almost everyone has a mobile phone and Ourique has everything from theatre to state of the art library, cottage hospital, wifi hotspots, doctors, dentists, opticians, etc. However it has no parking metres or traffic lights.

    It is a strange place where one buys rope by the kilo and not the metre, cakes are bought from the local filling station, and you can go for a drink at the fire station. Yes the fire station has a bar attached to it.

    It is definitely a different way of life.

    At our place you will have the opportunity of learning about horses and their behaviour. You will be able to experience what it is like to live life off grid. You will be able to experience a different way of living. A place where you can wake up and see horses all around you. A place where we have stunning sunsets and the night sky is amazing, as we have no light pollution.

    Who knows, you may never want to leave.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Five hours a days five days a week


Photos

Our place

A few pictures to give you an idea of what the area and our place looks like

Click images to enlarge

One the views across our land showing the caravan on the left and our accommodation which is under the marquee. The building on the far right is the horse shelter, which was built in 2015, and most of the materials used came from our land
The small Town of Ourique
View across our lake at dawn
Richard having a swim in the lake
The youngsters having a wallow in the lake
Missy our friendly rescue dog
One of the amazing sunsets we have
Our herd of six horses
Star, the first horse that came to us
The baby girls Nikita and Niki
The monthly regional market at Castro Verde
Santa Clara lake a 15 minute drive from us
Host ref number: 349278136536

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts