Help with building projects, gardening or website and learn about self-sufficiency, near Vimmerby, Sweden



Favourited 80 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    We are a family of two adults (born -52 and -64) and two teens (born - 98 and 01) with long experience in self-sufficiency gardening. I am an agronomist and consultant in sustainability issues, my husband is a reflexologist and healer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers may be inspired by our self-sufficiency style of life and may like to learn about gardening, wild edible plants, permaculture etc. We are looking forward to have many interesting chats about everything between micro-life in the soil to global issues, dreams, hopes and fears for the future on this planet and many good laughs.

  • Help


    We always need help in the garden and with general maintenance.

    Sometimes we also have a building project which needs extra hands. For instance we are planning to build a mobile hens house and to set up a 45 sqm greenhouse soon.

    We also need to rebuild stairs in the garden and other works with stone.

    My husband also needs help to set up a website for his reflexology.

    The longer period of time you stay the more interesting tasks you will get and the more skills you will develop. You will need at least one week to get to know the place and understand how it all works. So for the first week you will most probable work together with one of us and help out with the actual project that we are working with at the time. If you stay for longer time you may be able to choose among different projects and work more independently.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, German, Portuguese (Spanish, French)

  • Accommodation


    You will stay in our newly renovated guest house with your own kitchen and ecological toilet. (see photo)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the beautiful landscape known worldwide through the books and films of Astrid Lindgren. In your spare time you may borrow bikes and go swimming in one of two lakes in biking distance, or you may want to visit the small towns of Vimmerby or Västervik.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week. We'll agree on the times.

Host ref number: 328532554684