Help with carpentry near Hamelin Bay, Australia

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Updated - 12/08/18

    Hello my name is Malcolm..., right now I need someone with natural landscaping skills and ideas..., also someone who knows the art of correctly pruning mature fruit trees..., and also I need a carpenter...., if you have any of these skills...., and are interested in visiting and helping here --- EXTRA BONUS POINTS FOR YOU - please contact me !!

    I'm a mature guy who lives on this slice of beautiful coastal land..., on the South West corner of Australia. I grow most of my own fruit and vegetable needs here..., I also fish for protein once or twice a week. Beside this land is a tall forest National Park many biking and walking trails..., all leading to the Indian Ocean...., yes, you can walk from this place to the beautiful long and protected white sandy beaches of Hamelin Bay. The weather here is always mild..., we never receive 'extreme weather events' that the East Coast of Australia receives. It's also cooler here than Fremantle or Perth. And..., this particular land is blessed with a stream flowing through the middle..., kangaroo, emu and many other native animals roaming freely and safely here.

    I would really appreciate some helping hands here...., if you have some building, gardening, sustainability skills..., maybe some creative or artistic abilities..., maybe yoga, meditation or healing abilities..., you will be made most welcome. If you feel to, I can show you around this beautiful area..., introduce you to some interesting local characters or put you in touch with possible employers etc.

    Here - I have almost completed building my home here. I have used local stone and sustainably sourced plantation timber plus some timber I have milled from this land. I have grid connected solar power(hybrid system) solar hot water system..., 2 satellite dishes provide me with internet and TV coverage. There's a large evolving organic vegetable garden plus 35 fruit/nut trees. During Summer many different people come to stay here on different parts of this land...., friends, family and random travellers..., I really enjoy meeting people from all over the world..., as I am a long time traveller...., pretty much everyone of positive intent is welcome here.

    (1) It's much better if you have your own vehicle to visit here, so you can get around more easily.
    (2) At the moment I can provide a lot of vegetables from the garden.
    (3) I ask for 2 to 3 hours help per day..., easy work, in exchange for somewhere to stay, with clean toilets and hot rainwater shower..., plus there's plenty of places available to make a nice camp if you prefer to stay in your camper van or similar ?
    (4) You will need to speak and understand English well - we need to understand each other..., it's all about your safety while you stay and help here ;-)
    (5) If you are vegan or vegetarian..., you'll have to help me prepare your meals..., as I mentioned, produce from my garden is available.
    (6) You will need to contact me first by phone so we can have a conversation.

    Visitor/helpers wishing to visit should contact me directly on my Australian no. ..., zero four two nine, five eight five, five two two. If you do text, please identify who you are and a bit about yourself in the first text.

    Here are some of the projects visitors can helped me with ;
    - house maintenance, painting, moving furniture, house cleaning.
    - in the fruit and vegetable gardens - I could use some help with soil building, feeding, composting, weeding, watering, pruning fruit trees, harvesting, preserving/storing fruit and vegies..., etc etc
    - help with my yoga practice..., join in meditations.
    - working with metal and timber - creating stuff ?
    - help with my Apple laptop.
    - fuel reduction - raking firebreaks, collecting & storing fire wood for use inside in the wood stove, raking and piling excess leaves and sticks to burn later.
    - collecting seaweed from my local boat ramp.

    Play Time..., It's not all work here.., relaxing and playtime is important. Visitors and helpers are always welcome to join me if I travel somewhere 'off the property'. This can be any one of a number of things - 4WD trips to remote coastal areas, trips into town or visiting local friends. In this area you can play in, on, under or by the ocean..., there's surfing(I can teach you !), fishing/diving, beach walking, making sandcastles...., paddling a SUP..., simply exploring the coastline or forest ! I love beachcombing - looking for inspiration and driftwood(in my spare time I make things using driftwood, metal and recycled aged timber).
    I like to cook, share food and recipes with visitor/helpers. I would like to learn some 'raw' food or vegan methods..., can anyone help me with that ? It's possible to really get out in the bush here(it's just outside my door ;-)). There's walking or riding mountain bikes in the forests(lots of trails)...., practice yoga on the outdoor platform...., chill out..., reading(or snoozing) in a swaying hammock..., under the peppermint trees...., now that's what I call 'dynamic meditation' ;-)
    My mantra is - "you're never too old to play like a child" ..., make of that what you will.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can share my experience and knowledge of permaculture, organic and sustainable gardening and food production. I also have knowledge of fishing, diving, surfing, working with timber and metal, sustainable construction, off road driving, survival and remote area camping...., and much more. I would be good if helpers visiting here bring their own set of skills and knowledge to share. I welcome people with open hearts, minds, humour and good energy....., people who value protecting and enhancing the land we live on..., and the animals we share the land with.

  • Help

    Help

    I welcome enquiries from people interested in...., sustainable living systems, organic gardening techniques using permaculture principals and systems, using their creative energy.

    I have an exciting new 'project starting this Summer - I'm planning to build a small 'free form' cabin - about 60 sq/m.
    I would be most grateful If there's people 'out there' who're interested in helping me.
    I'd like to build with whatever local and salvaged materials I can find - 2nd hand doors & windows, timber, stone, mud, straw bale, coloured metal roofing. I have much of it stored and stacked here already. I'm dreaming it will be a solar powered, rain watered, wood heated cabin with a generous verandah. People with alternative building skills and/or experience, ideas, creative energies etc..., please make contact.
    If you have any questions ?...., please send me a message.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English..., very small amounts of French, Spanish, Italian, Vietnamese and Thai.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Mainly shaded camp sites around this property..., although there is also a self contained caravan(trailer home)...., both have good access to toilets and rain water showers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This farm is just 6 km from Hamelin Bay, 18 km north from Augusta, 30 km south from Margaret River and 14 km west of the Blackwood River. It has a stream flowing through the middle..., there are many private clearings where travellers can make a camp(I can provide some camping equipment). We are located right beside a tall forest National Park and from here it's possible to take a walk through the forest to some special white sand beaches. I've hosted helpers here for more than 15 years now via other sites and now Workaway.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours x 5 days (max 15 hours/week-with food provided)

Jimmy and Ernie keep watch from on top of a compost pile !

Host ref number: 319832949986