Help me build a hostel in the jungle on the coast of Northern Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Dani. I'm 30 and I'm British/Polish. After travelling the continent two years ago,I decided to settle on this side of the world and I now live on the North Coast of Colombia in a beautiful region surrounded by pristine beaches and lush green jungle. Some months ago I bought a beautiful piece of land a few hundred metres from the coastal road into the jungle. The land has fruit trees in abundance and has a beautiful ocean view and the plan is to build a hostel here. I want to focus on creating a more artistic, ecofriendly place. The idea is to plant plenty and be as self sufficient as possible. I want to create a spot that merges nature and living. And I want art EVERYWHERE.
    So I'm looking for volunteers that love to create. I need artistic minds with weird and wonderful ideas. I need volunteers with skills around construction and gardening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The volunteer(s) will gain experience and knowledge around their field and they will have a bit of leeway to incorporate their own creativity and ideas into the project. This way they can set their own challenges and accomplish them.
    There will be a chance to learn about the local fauna and flora and I will have locally spirited side projects (including chocolate making from fresh cacao from the land).
    As for the surrounding area, Buritaca and Don Diego towns are just 5min drive. Both have plenty of Colombian culture and the land is in the perfect location to access various points of interest on the coast. Tayrona National Park, Palomino, Cabo de le Vela, Punta Gallinas are just a few places nearby to visit. There is an array of fantastic beach and jungle hostels in the area providing fun activities and great quality food. This is the perfect place to get away from the crowds and explore the Colombian coast and all it has to offer.

  • Help

    Help

    For the time being I am looking for volunteers with experience in construction. Plumbers, electricians, carpenters, any specialist knowledge in bamboo would also be ideal. Asides from that volunteers with knowledge around planting and cultivation/gardening and biology AND if you have knowledge around how to do all the previously mentioned things in an environmentally friendly way then even better.
    The project is in the very early phases so it's mainly a case of looking after the land and building and modifying the foundations.
    Volunteers would also help with other jobs such as Santa Marta errand runs and cooking shifts. We share the workload wherever needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is an existing house on the land in which everyone lives in together. The structure is very basic as are the amenities. There is running water but work needs to be done in order to make the living conditions more comfortable. Volunteers share a room with a bed each but if anyone prefers to camp, they are welcome to do so provided they have their own tent.
    I will provide the funds for some meals and we take turns in cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no wifi and internet access is limited due to poor signal. The land also currently has no power so portable chargers and power banks are recommended and these can be charged every so often in town. But this does make living conditions challenging and therefore something to take into account.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours


Host ref number: 293521541646