Looking for help at our backpacker hostel on the Queensland, Australia

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 2014 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Run by Oscar and Claudio with their side-kick pet dog Duke, Backpackers is a family owned business, which was bought in August 2015. There are three owners, Oscar and his parents Paul and Sharon.

    Oscar and his family have each had an extensive experience in travelling and still hold this passion. Since owning the hostel they have recreated the space and are still developing areas to complete their vision. Their vision is to have a hostel that has a chilled vibe, with artwork, eco-projects and the look of a bohemian travelling hostel. With their experience in travelling and passion for the environment, they have applied this in how they've created the hostel; they want to make it to feel like home for backpackers and give them a memorable travelling experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will benefit from advice from Oscar, as he has a rich knowledge of travelling and can give you loads of advice! You can practice surfing here, learn different skills from our activities and help develop the hostel here. If you want to develop your resume in certain skills ask Oscar and he can see what he can do for you!

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for like-minded people who are interested in the environment, have a sense of adventure and take pride in their work and want to be part of our family!

    The main types of help we need here are as follows, all jobs are two hours a day and will be paid in line with the minimum wage.:

    - Cleaners: From 10:00-11:30am cleaning dorm rooms, bringing the sheets in at 4:00pm and kitchen and 10:00-10:15pm kitchen closing.
    - Early riser shift: 5:30am-6:30am, clean communal areas and check-outs for backpackers going on early bus and a 4:00pm kitchen clean.
    - Shuttle Bus & Tours: 6:30am, 6:30pm and 9:45pm pick-ups and Tour (if any customers interested).

    There are also opportunities to help Oscar in landscaping, eco-projects and art-projects, you will be required to take one of the positions above to take advantage of this. You will not necessarily have to do both jobs but if you do, you get days owed, we are very flexible!

    You also get free use of laundry facilities, surfboard and bike hire, free surf lessons, sunset tours plus discounts on tours in Agnes!

    All interested must apply no further in advance than a month before arrival!
    Our minimum stay is TWO WEEKS.

    We cannot accept any one who apply earlier than this due to being let down before. We must be able to guarantee you will be coming here to work. We understand that when travelling, sometimes plans change so please be sure when applying you will be available if the position is offered... We do get a high volume of requests from backpackers! :)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️First come first serve basis, we cannot guarantee that we can reply back to everyone, sorry! :)

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This is hostel accommodation so you will be staying in a dorm room that has an en-suite bathroom, and we have communal areas for everyone to enjoy! There is a living room area with a TV, big kitchen with seating areas, picnic bench area and a fire pit. It is a fun hostel where all staff take part in a wide range of activities, whether its going for a group surf, four-wheel driving, hiking, tie dying, basket weaving, fire spinning on the beach or just hanging out having drinks; there will always be something for everyone. Its a sociable hostel so we encourage all staff and guests to interact!

    Our location is central to the beach (4min walk away) and shops, and we are just a short drive away with our shuttle bus!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have amazing conservation beaches and forests which are superb for snorkelling, fishing, surfing, kayaking, four wheel driving and hiking. It is a conservation area and the most southern part of the Great Barrier Reef (and the most conserved!). We also have a small museum that charges $3 for entry and tells you about the history. There are also great cafes here, a surf shop and few other shops where you can buy clothes, fishing gear etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours a day, 5 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


































Host ref number: 292379768814