Help me restore an 19 century Irish farm cottage in the beautiful West of Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    268

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live with my partner Bettina and springer/collie 'sky' and puppy Toby in the beautuful West of Ireland 15 min drive to the award winning town of Westport and 10 minutes drive to the county town of Mayo, Castlebar. 2 min drive to garage with all provisions you could possibly need. The pilgrims walk from Ballintubber Abbey passes by my land. Im a musician and an artist so know all the best sessions to visit in nearby Westport and Castlebar. I have a daughter and Granddaughter who live in Castlebar. Originally from the UK I have lived in Ireland since 2011.

    In June 2017 i bought an old farm cottage complete with barns and land. The cottage is from around 1840 and hasn't been occupied for 17 years. Im making good progress with the master bedroom finished and the lounge almost done too. Theres still plenty to do tho and i really need help to achieve my ambition of creating a Glamping/air b n b site. General help with painting decorating and creating arty creative space outside. Inspired by Glastonbury music festival i would like to creat a magical woodland area with fire pits and canopies. Also I want to become as organic as possible and grow my own veg which will entail building polly tunnels and planting fruit trees.
    Your accommodation would be a 4 birth caravan and use of all facilities i have in the cottage. At the moment i have no shower but plenty of hot water and a big bath.
    You would need to be an animal lover as i havd a very lively 4 yr old dog and and 8 month old puppy.
    I love cooking so you wont go hungry. Im not vegetarian but have no problem catering for you if you are.
    I am very easy going and will be very flexible about work/leisure time. Typically I would hope for you to work 4 to 5 hours some time between 9 and 5 Monday to Friday.
    Own transport is advisable but not necessary.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Building outdoor chill out areas from timber. Painting inside and ouside of house. Light building work.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Traditional way of life including traditional music.
    If your a fisherman/lady your spoilt for choice as this is lake land with loughs Mask and Cara only minutes drive away not to mention the river Aile at the bottom of my field.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    4 birth caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local traditional music, cycle the greenway , fishing , art exhibitions .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 276615468962