Experience life in the centre of Australia- Alice Springs

Country

Australia

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and experience life in the town of Alice Springs. My name is Claire, I grew up in this town and am 24 years old. At them moment I live with my parents (Bill and Trudy). I have spent some time being a workaway overseas so now I want to be a host and share as much as I can of this part of Australia. We are keen to meet interesting people and learn about your culture. You can help me with some woodworking projects such as small furniture and I can teach you a bit about woodturning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience the very unique town of Alice Springs in the centre of Australia. The town is full of interesting characters and cultures and you are surrounded by incredible landscapes and scenery. I will try to spend as much time as I can showing you the beautiful waterholes and sights around town or help you to get there on your days off. If you like bushwalking there are many trails, or you can make a weekend trip to Uluru and Kings Canyon if you want. I am happy to help you practice english, I am learning Italian so it is a bonus if you can help me practice too! I can lend you a bike to get around town and help drive you places whenever it is possible.

  • Help

    Help

    We need a little help round the house with gardening and looking after the pets (1 cat and 1 dog). Mainly I would love someone with some woodworking or carpentry skills to help in my workshop, or at least an interest in learning the art of woodworking. I am an currently setting up a workshop in the backyard and would love to be able to share skills and ideas and get help to build a few projects. I go to work full time during the week so I would prefer if you can work with me on the weekends and have some days off during the week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with double bed in the house. We share meals and all help with the cooking/cleaning but all the food/ingredients will be provided. We also have a swimming pool in the backyard for when it is very hot. The house is about a 15 minute bike ride from the centre of town, or we can help drive you or show you how to use the bus service. The town itself is small, but it has some interesting things to see. I am vegan but my parents are not so we can accomodate any dietary preference.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you don't have a car or van you can fly into Alice Springs. Please be warned that it is very hot here in summer- the best time to come is between April-October, in the winter we have mild temperatures and sunny blue skies!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 258212978447