We are looking for someone who loves being around children- to help in our kindergarten in Kirkkonummi, Finland

updated

Favourited 453 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    22/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. We run a family friendly English kindergarten with about 15 children. The children, mostly Finnish, love to meet new people from abroad and learn something from them. If you just enjoy sitting and playing with children, doing an art project with them about your country, teaching them a dance, a song, etc... then they would enjoy what you can offer. We just ask that you dress reasonably nicely and speak English to a reasonable level. Sorry, we only accept female applicants.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We would like you be a woman who enjoys children - who wants an experience of giving the best of yourself to young children who are eager to receive all you can give.

    We would like you to work in the daycare as a support person. Apart from supervising and doing activities with the children there are other things that typically need doing. Getting the children ready to go outside, serving lunch, cleaning, reading a story to the children, etc.

    Because it takes time to train you and get to know the children - the minimum time to volunteer with us is 4 weeks. If it seems like we're not a good match for each other - then this can be shorter.

    We live on the edge of a quiet town. There's some woods nearby and some fields to walk in, to bike in, to run in, to photograph etc. We have a small ski slope nearby - but it's about Eur 25 for an evening. In the summer there is lake swimming. Kirkkonummi town has a nice small swimming pool and gym, some supermarkets but not much else.

    Espoo is 30 minutes away by bus and has some large shopping centres - and Helsinki - 1hr away has more shopping and some nice things to do for young people. There is also Tallinn in Estonia to visit (2 hours by boat). Students can also get a cheap ticket up to northern Finland for the weekend.

    Put simply, life is quiet. The children in the kindergarten are lovely - and worth investing in. The kindergarten is right next to our home - so you only have to walk 10 meters to get to work.

    We live a quiet life - and if you are happy with that - and if you can find your own things to do most evenings - then feel free to come. Sometimes we might go out for a trip to visit something - and you are welcome to come. Sometimes there will be 2 workawayers staying with us and, if you connect well, you might go off and do things together. Some workawayers come, have their time with the children, and then go into their room and do their jobs (e.g.; as translators) or do online courses, etc. We also do movie evenings.

    As older people - we love to talk - especially about love, life and meaning. If you enjoy such discussions feel free to chat during and after even meals.

    The kindergarten is closed on Saturday and Sunday. Some workawayers go away for the weekend - go travelling or visiting friends. Some stay in our home. If you stay with us we will also expect you do help out around the home - cooking, clearing up after meals, some extra chores, etc - like part of the family :-)

    We also enjoy it when you cook the evening meal - we love to taste recipes from around the world.

    You are sincerely welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Polish, Some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You get your own room in our house - and free meals. You can come and go as you like. We would prefer a non-smoker.
    WE also offer you a Eur 50 bus pass for the month (3 trips to Helsinki and back) so can travel into Espoo or Helsinki. If you want to go more often you need to finance the trip yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live about 40 kms from Helsinki and 20 kms from Espoo. There is a regular bus leaving from near our house - so you can go to Helsinki - and enjoy yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

My Photo Album





















Host ref number: 247462186866