Help required in a relaxed but busy home and retreat centre in a beautiful location in Kerry. Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 living in a rural town Killorglin in County Kerry (2 adults, 2 children aged 6 & 8)
    We have a guest house with a few beautiful studios that are used for many holistic activities (yoga, massage, pilates, meditations etc)
    We are looking for help with a few projects around the place such as painting, gardening, cleaning and general maintenance and sometimes some child minding and cooking.
    Please only apply if you are 25+ years of age and have good english - thank you:)
    In exchange for meals & accommodation, we ask for help for approx 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. There is no monetary payment.
    If you have a genuine interest in learning more about the countryside, sightseeing & other activities and would like to base yourself in a beautiful part of the country while working in a lovely and calm (mostly calm :o) environment, we look forward to hearing from you !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an English-speaking family and this would help volunteers improve their English. However, we do require a good level of English.
    We live in a beautiful Irish town with nearby beach (14 km), mountain walks & vibrant culture. We are on the "Ring of Kerry" and "Wild Atlantic Way". Our home also hosts yoga and meditation groups, so there is always an interesting group of people around.
    Kerry airport is 20 minutes drive away.
    Killarney train station is 20 minutes drive away.
    There is a good bus service to Tralee or Killarney, which connect to a larger service around Ireland.

  • Help

    Help

    Housework, gardening, painting, maintenance will be the main help.

    As we have had quite a few volunteers over the past 18 months, we have learned what suits us as a family. We require a lot of time & space as a family, so will not spend a lot of time with the volunteer(s), therefore it would suit someone or a couple who are independent & likes to do their own thing in the free time!

    There will be no payment, but we will provide a great place to stay plus meals. You can use the family kitchen to cook your own meals & we will also have some meals together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One room has a double bed, ensuite shower & toilet & TV. Another room as a twin bed, ensuite shower and toilet.
    You also have access to sun lounge, TV lounge, kitchenette and yoga studio (when not being used by guests).
    We will provide you with food that you can prepare your own meals in our kitchen & we will also have some meals together.
    Please let us know your dietary requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Killorglin town is 20 minutes from Kerry airport and 20 minutes drive to Killarney train station.
    There are buses that go to bigger towns such as Killarney or Tralee.
    We are situated on the "Ring of Kerry" and the "Wild Atlantic Way" so it is a tourist attraction.
    There are plenty of mountain or coastal walks, surfing @ Inch Beach and our house is on the River if you are interested in rowing or fishing.
    Cinemas, swimming pools & nightlife are in Killarney town.
    Killorglin has great bars & restaurants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approx 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)













Host ref number: 229924117966