Workers needed on a beautiful farm in SW France

Country

France

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    A farmhouse and 5 hectares to renovate, located near the small village of Roquepine, in the Gers, Coeur de Gascon. Nearest town is Condom, 10mins drive away, nearest rail Agen, airport Toulouse. A beautiful part of the world. We have finished renovating the main house and the "gite" or guest house, now the pool, converting the barn and then to do something with the land, animals and then this, and then that, and then the other.... So lots still to do.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have been renovating properties for more than twenty years and have amassed a great deal of knowledge working in different materials. Gardening and cooking are a passion. It is very much life 'a la campagne' and fairly quiet over winter however spring sees fetes and exhibitions 'commence partout'... I sit on the Comite de Fete which is responsible for planning and executing the summer fete and other activities throughout the year.

  • Help

    Help

    UPDATE AUGUST 2016.

    With the bulk of the first round of building work complete we are now looking for hands to help with a multitude of tasks, gardening, painting and decorating, furniture restoring, childminding, the list goes on.

    Summer - our greatest need will be Childcare, building work, painting and decorating.

    As always, if you love to cook then that is even better!

    UPDATE NOVEMBER 2018 -

    Spring/ early summer we will be looking for keen gardeners to help with the vegetable garden and general building work. Mark is now flying solo at Gelat, Christina and the kids are not too far away. 7 years of living in each other's pocket has necessitated a breather. Work continues however. Looking for help from now onwards... warm house! (After a great deal of work).

    now - lots of gardening and pool area to finish.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have separate accommodation with two beautiful guest rooms with their own bathroom (which you may have to share if we have friends or other workawayers staying), a kitchen and loungeroom. If the gite is rented there is a double room in the main part of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This part of France (Armagnac) is a gastronome's delight and les produits des terroir are duck, prunes, cherries, foie and of course, Armagnac. The region is known for its wines, the crisp whites of Cotes de Gascogne and the Gros and Petit Mansengs (medium to sweet whites). Any foodies would enjoy their time here. Summer is a time of fetes and markets. A car could be made available (21yrs).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs/day (max 25 hours/week)












Host ref number: 18267269114d