Workaway stay in the tranquil Australian rainforest in the heart of Noosa on the Sunshine Coast

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 860 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    81  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    71

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a tranquil & protected wildlife habitat set between the Eumundi Markets & downtown Noosa –– 15 minutes to the beach.

    We are the lucky custodians of what we regard as a rather special parcel of land. Since moving to Noosa in 2014, we’ve worked with dozens of wonderful workaways to create a private conservation habitat for native Australian plants and animals.

    Our property is a long-term, large-scale family conservation project: I'm a multidisciplinary artist living and working on 12-acres of rainforest in the glorious Noosa Hinterland. My husband is a semi-retired computer consultant. He spends time indulging his passion for computers, boat building, woodwork, and fine craftsmanship. My daughter works freelance in her own business and lives here roughly half of the year to help manage the property. My son and 6 year old granddaughter also visit regularly from interstate and - if you’re lucky - it’ll be while you’re here!

    Our aim is to preserve the environment for future generations while also opening it up so that others can share in the quiet, gentle gifts the Australian rainforest have to offer.

    We wish to acknowledge the Gubby Gubby people, the traditional custodians of this country and recognise their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to them, their cultures and to elders both past and present.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    DIET & LIFESTYLE
    The atmosphere in our home is very calm, quiet and gentle. It’s perfect for travellers who enjoy yoga, meditation, gardening and other physically rewarding work.

    We provide healthy, mainly home-cooked and vegetarian meals, and we have a variety of gluten-free ingredients in the pantry for those who are intolerant.

    Outside of genuine food intolerances though, we’re not able to cater to highly specific food requirements, such as raw vegan and no-carb diets.

    It’s also not an appropriate Workaway assignment for people who are fasting or physically detoxing because the work is very active and you’ll need your energy.

    Please notify us of any dietary requirements you have at the time of applying, so we can do our best to accommodate them or highlight other places we know of that may be a better fit.

  • Help

    Help

    A typical day here begins around 7am with breakfast and coffee, starting work by 8am.

    The work largely involves planting or pruning trees and shovelling mulch to help rejuvenate the native rainforest. It’s very physical, sometimes slow, but highly rewarding work. Rainy days usually involve spring-cleaning around the house.

    Sometimes we'll be working alongside you and other times we won’t, so a capacity to manage your own time and project is important. We’re always looking for someone who is self-motivated, shows initiative, is willing to take instruction, and who can work with or without supervision.

    We’ll usually discuss what needs doing on the first night and then write up a personalised list of tasks with instructions. After that, we largely leave it to you to work through your list during the week, but we’re here and happy to answer questions or provide more instruction at any time.

    Standard working hours are 8am – 1pm with a 15-minute morning tea break. This way, you’re finished by lunchtime and before the afternoon heat sets in. To work in the rainforest you'll need a sturdy pair of shoes (that you're willing to get dirty), a hat, and a long sleeved cotton shirt.

    Following lunch and a shower, you may like to relax in your room, enjoy the garden and pool, or head out sightseeing for the afternoon. We’re happy to drop you into Eumundi or Noosa (or the bus interchange if you’re heading elsewhere) and will arrange to pick you up later in the day.

    Please note: If you're interested in the Australian flora and fauna, the property is an absolute wonderland! But if you have an aversion to 'creepy crawlies’ it may not be the place for you. Because the property is a protected wildlife habitat, we expect our visitor to respect all the plants, animals, bugs and insects that contribute to the delicate rainforest ecosystem. This includes being mindful of noise and excessive light at night (which severely impacts the nocturnal fauna) and by not harming or killing any living creatures.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some very rusty Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We may have multiple guests at any given time, be it through Workaway or friends visiting from interstate. Other times, there may just be a couple of us here. Either way, we offer plenty of space and privacy in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

    You will have your own bedroom with a queen size bed and tropical garden views. You’ll have access to the main bathroom, which may be shared with one or two others. There’s plenty of storage space and privacy. Couples and friends travelling together on a joint Workaway account typically share a room.

    WIFI: Internet infrastructure in Australia really needs a revamp. You may have already noticed that WIFI access is quite limited in comparison to other countries, and data allocations are also limited. We offer WIFI for reasonable daily use, but not for downloading movies, streaming radio, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    SOME THINGS TO PLEASE NOTE WHEN APPLYING:
    I am a Buddhist and practice daily walking and sitting meditations. I gladly welcome and send Metta to other Buddhist travellers who may be volunteering through Work Away.

    · For insurance purposes, all applicants must be registered with Workaway
    · Unfortunately, we’re unable to assist with second year visa applications or people needing to secure paid work.
    · Please notify us of any allergies and/or dietary requirements in advance
    · Couples and friends travelling together on a joint Workaway account typically share a room
    · We have reliable Internet for moderate daily use, but it’s not sufficient heavy use such as movie and music downloads, radio streaming, and the like. The property is a non smoking environment.

    Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Sam, Drew and Charlotte undertaking regeneration work by the river bend
Thanks to Charlotte Styles for the collection of photos and videos produced whilst she was here.
Sunrise in the rainforest
David and our daughter Hannah
Turtles, Marin, frogs and Water Dragons are just a few of the residents of the front pond.
















































Host ref number: 179947461545