Help convert an old family house and garden into a shared flat in Hégenheim, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 308 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Specificity for July and August 2019:
    -I will be away from home for a week in July and August.
    -Peach, my dog will be home and will be happy to be well cared for.
    -There are already several people who have planned to stay here during the summer, you can join the team
    -Special work planned: transformation from a van to a habitable truck.

    I hope you'll enjoy it!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️
    Latest news (July 2019):
    The project is moving along nicely which means we have space to host quite a few workawayers!
    If you enjoy gardening, painting, putting together ikea furniture, chopping wood, general upkeep and being part of a community then this is the place for you :)

    There is of course always a lot to do indoors as well as in the garden, don't hesitate to contact me for more information! :)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️

    I am Victor, I'm French, I'm 27 years old and I have travelled a lot in recent years.

    At our house we speak English, French and German.

    Following a few years of travel I have now returned to my home village, living in an old family house that has been converted for the occasion into a shared flat. The house and its garden need a lot of work, I would like to create a beautiful shared house for 7 people.

    The project is very large, there are a lot of major works (creation of a vegetable garden, maintenance of trees, renovation of several rooms, conversion of an old barn, insulation of the house, creation/renovation of furniture, painting, and much more).

    My family also lives in the same village, so I often go to help them, especially with gardening at my grandparents' house.

    Despite the rural aspect of life in Hegenheim, the city centre of Basel in Switzerland is less than fifteen minutes by bike (I have several of them that I make available to my guests), as well as the international airport and railway network.

    I have a lot of passions and cooking is one of them that you should get the chance to enjoy regularly. There is an old bread/pizza oven in the cellar also!

    The region is magnificent, located at the three borders between France, Germany and Switzerland. The Vosges, Black Forest and Jura mountains meet here.

    I'll be happy to show you around!

    The accommodation will be in a private room for the guests.
    There are always people at home, friends passing by, couchsurfers, former Workaway volunteers returning, etc.

    There is often a large team of volunteers, especially in summer, and it is possible for me to accommodate many people!

    Since February 2019, Peach, a lovely dog has joined us :)

    If you're not in a good headspace or need a lot of time on your own, this might not be the place for you :)

    I was essentially a vegetarian before discovering Freeganism - by discovering this new philosophy I now allow myself more freedom and there will always be meat and vegetarian products available for everyone :)

    See you soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The region is very special, with French, Swiss and German influences. I can help you discover this region, most notably the cuisine, as well as cuisine from around the world.
    There are many opportunities to learn new skills and enable new interests to blossom as long as you match it with enthusiasm and a willingness to work.

  • Help

    Help

    As I explained above, there are many things to do, it is very varied and I will adapt to the desires, passions and talents of each one!

    Please read the bio that I've created for this project carefully The jobs and skills listed are very much true to form, and while we are happy to enable you to learn new skills and interests we expect you to arrive with the capabilities which you tell us about.

    Candidates who already have construction work or gardening skills will be favoured, as will people who want to stay for a long time (two weeks or more is best).

    One more thing, if you recognise yourself in the following list please click on the exit button as our house won't fit your needs :)
    - sleep through alarm clock every morning and need 12 hours of sleep each night
    - broken heart
    - extreme mood swings or other psychological imbalances

    We've had a couple of bad experiences with workawayers who had some of the issues listed above. We're just trying to make the best environment possible for everyone.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, English, Deutsch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are several rooms available, all equipped with one or more double beds. I will try to organize the rooms as much as possible according to everyone's wishes and I will do my best to assign a private room to the couples staying at my place.

    The house is non-smoking inside for everyone's comfort.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's up to everyone to help me as they please, as long as the feeling goes well. There is no imperative except the joy and good humor of living together!
    However, I would very much appreciate that the stay lasts at least a week.

    One last thing, if you contact me, do not send me a novel, please be concise and effective in your message :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible, that depends on your will! max 25




















Host ref number: 151494811897