Learn old farming techniques in Northern Norway

Favourited 37 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/09/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three, in our late thirties and 15 years old. We have full time jobs (school) but live on a smallholding in Northern Norway. We have hosted several exchange students from all over the world, and we love getting to know new people and cultures. Kristin works with kids and Ole has an officejob. We always have some project going on the farm, in the summermonths now its pretty crazy, in the wintertime it slowes down.

    We are now starting to make hay and dry leaves (and cutting/splitting wood for the winter). We do this the traditional way, the grass is cut with a scythe or a small machine and then hung on strings to dry. The wood is cut down, smaller branches are bunched together and hung to dry while bigger ones are cut and split for firewood.

    At the same time the vegetable garden needs looking after, the animals must be fed and cared for and the rental house made ready for guests. So there are lots of big and small tasks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Making hay and drying leaves is quite time consuming, its not hard work but it requiers more hands than we have at the moment, so we are now looking for help as soon as possible!

    Interests in building/maintenance, arts and crafts, training horses, gardening and permaculture would be great, some experience with animals would be good, but we can also teach you what you need to know. if you like photograpy, are good with marketing or have other skills that can be of help to a growing smallholding looking to branch out we would love to hear from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Norwegian (Ole claims to know german but german exchangestudent does not agree:)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For helpers this summer we have a building with two separate bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with two single beds and a portapotty right outside. The rooms has wonderful views and you will have access to kitchen/bathroom in our house or the rental house when its not rented out.
    We also have a caravan with a double bed.
    We eat dinner together most days, other meals are more individual.

    For longterm help over the winter we have a separat house. It has two full bedrooms, but all in all 8 beds. it doesnt have a tv or dishwasher, but all other modern appliances are there, wifi, and its fully furnished. The house is 20 meters from our house. Its built in 1887 and is packed with charm. There is a play area just outside the house and we have a grillhut close by. When you stay with us for a longer period of time like this, we will share some meals, but you will have your own fully equipped kitchen and will get both vegetables and meat from the farm and will have your own household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off is best spent exploring the region, its an eldorado for all kinds of outdoor activities. VisitVesterålen is a site packed with information about Vesterålen and things to do here, Lofoten is an hour away by car, you can also go there by bus or costal ferry (hurtigruten).
    We love to be outdoors, be tourists in our own region. The farm and all the animals means we rarely get to travel away for more than a day or two. We have never had volunteers, but think it will be great to get to know you and we are sure we will have lots of fun together. The neighbourhood is friendly and including. We live 12 minutes from Sortland a town of 10.000 inhabitants that has everything you may need.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the wild and beautiful Vesterålen, next to Lofoten, and just as pretty. When living on our farm you will take part in the everyday life of Northern Norway, we get our fish straight from the boat on the docks (or fish it ourself) we prepare our food the same way my grandmother did, we grow our own vegetables and produce our own meat. For the animals we prepare hay the same way its always been done here, we also collect and dry leaves for them. You can go hunting for grouse or moose or you can fish for salmon. We are nestled between mountains and on the oceanfront so you can go hiking or kayaking pretty much from your doorstep.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Feedback







Host ref number: 123234453932