Help with our projects and looking after our home and animals in Asheville, North Carolina, USA

Favourited 59 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


Contact Register


  • Description


    My partner and I live inside the city limits of Asheville, North Carolina. Surrounded by mountains, we are known for our close proximity to many outdoor activities such as hiking, paddling, tubing, mountain biking, climbing and fishing. Many artisan crafters and musicians make Asheville their home, the downtown streets here are typically full of buskers and shops featuring locally made goods. Our property is small, but we are full of ideas and ideals about utilizing its full potential. My partner and I both work full time, we could really use some help with our projects and looking after our home and animals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Help


    Help is expected approximately 4hrs a day 5 days a week. Some days may be less hours some days may be a little more, but you will never be expected or asked to give more than 20 hrs a week total. Hours would typically be earlier in the day, but this is flexible. Tasks will vary depending on what projects we have going and your skills, we will always though need gardening, yard and animal care help. Building projects I hope to get to this year and beyond include framing in our basement, running a drain pipe from our duck yard to garden, some raised garden beds, completing a duck house and side yard. The larger projects I am working and learning as I go, creativity, enthusiasm and building knowledge is a plus!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is a 2015 Shasta Airflyte camper situated right next the main house. The camper is self contained, but we do ask that you share the bathroom and larger cooking facilities with us in the main house. There is also a guest room in the main house, but most enjoy the privacy and novelty of the camper. We do have two pretty excitable dogs, the camper accommodation allows for easy coming and going as you please.
    We keep staple foods around the house for your own preparation and prepare a dinner most nights. We do eat meat. Some examples of foods we commonly have available are oat grouts, quinoa, bean salads, garden vegetables and grilled meats. Toast and eggs. Sandwich fixings. We enjoy morning coffee.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the "West Asheville" part of the city, right off Haywood rd. There is a bus line nearby. We have some basic bicycles avaliable for your use. Ride at your own risk, Asheville does not have a good bike lane system in place, bicycling can be dangerous here. Our neighborhood is vibrant with many restaurants, cafes, music venues and some bars. There is a grocery store, weekly farmers market, bookstore, library and post office within walking distance. Also, Bakery, 4 coffee houses and an artisan donut shop. There is many outdoor activities that can be had nearby, a car would be helpful to getting to some, such as the blue ridge parkway and the many hiking trails and waterfalls in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Asheville is a unique place and draws people from many different backgrounds. Though a "Southern" state, this area of North Carolina has always been a magnet for artists, innovators and liberal thinkers. In recent years from scratch foods, urban farming, micro-brewing, local music and diy crafting have come to define Asheville, we truly are a colorful place with something for everyone.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day 5 days per week

My Photo Album

Front porch spot.
A view from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Fall 2015.
A duck house I'm in the process of building.
Some things growing at the front of the house.
We have dogs, cats and hopefully in the fall ducklings.
The main house. We'll share a kitchen and bathroom, your welcome to hang out in the house too as you like.
This is our Shasta Airflyte. Its a replica of their 1961 model, it is outfitted with modern amenities.

Host ref number: 122793823846