Help needed now at pilgrim rest and yoga retreat in southwest France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 932 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    91  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    14/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️Fancy New Year in southwest France? We need house/animal sitters from 27 December for as long as you like*️️*️️

    We are a rest stop for pilgrims walking the Chemin de St Jacques in the Haute-Pyrénées. During the holidays we welcome French students for English language stays. Kate teaches yoga classes in French and English and Chris is a pool-cleaning guy. We are happily busy but still find plenty of time to enjoy everything this area has to offer.

    Workaways love joining our family for a while (check out our reviews). We especially love having couples to stay but single travellers are also welcome :)

    There is always yoga going on if you would like to have a go. No previous experience necessary.

    We are a family of four (kids aged 13 and 11) who moved from Norfolk, England in July 2012. We work hard but we also play hard so a sense of humour is essential. Musicians and performers are always welcome :)

    We speak English at home and with our French students but there are lots of opportunities to improve your French with the pilgrims who stay with us. Also, we have French friends who like to do an exchange of French/English conversation with our workaways. There are lots of opportunities here for people with TEFL qualifications.

    We currently have a dog, three cats, three chickens, two rabbits and three degus. We also have a potager (vegetable garden) and are trying to grow as much food as we can.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Work is varied and depends on the time of year. We might need help in the garden or on building projects (there is always work to do on the house and we are turning our barn into a yoga studio). Or we might need help looking after pilgrims (welcoming, changing beds, setting out meals, cleaning) and French students (leading activities in English).

    Previous experience is always appreciated but not essential. It is more important to be willing to get stuck into anything! As we often have guests, being able to clean up after yourself is an essential requirement. And we may also need help cleaning the accommodation. You don't need to be an expert but we do ask for things to be cleaned properly. We will help you learn how and your future partners will love us forever ;)

    Our children, Tana and India, are 12 and 10. They are a very important part of our household so we love workaways who like to be around and play with children.

    Workaways must be flexible as that is the nature of life here. If we have a really busy time, we might all be working flat out for eight hours but you will ALWAYS get the time back. Our most successful workaways are not clock-watchers. They are people who want to help us do what we are doing. And this kind of attitude is ALWAYS rewarded.

    We prefer workaways to stay for at least a month as that is how long it takes for you to settle in (with a two-week settling in period, after which either party can decide that it is not working out). When we are all sure that we can live and work happily together we encourage workaways to stay as long as they can as that is when the real magic happens. Lifelong friendships are formed and you get the chance to really be part of the place, to see what it's like to live in rural France and really get to know the local people and area.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love meeting people from all over the world and trading customs and traditions with them. You will be treated like part of the family here - we have been welcoming workaways since 2013 and our little community now stretches right across the world. Working together is an important part of our life here - come and be part of it 🙂

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room inside the farmhouse or a bell tent with double mattress (weather permitting).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a wonderful area to visit, especially for people who enjoy a beautiful, simple, outdoor life. There are amazing walks right from our door and we have bicycles you can borrow. We ourselves are still exploring the area so you will get to explore alongside us.

    We eat meat but enjoy vegetarian and vegan food, especially when other people prepare it ;)

    We don't mind people smoking outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours a day but essentially whenever we need it! Never over 25 hours a week.

My Photo Album




















































Host ref number: 116824138814