Rachel

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Greece, Ireland, Japan, Thailand, United States, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2018 - 15/02/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    414

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! I've been on an adventure for the past 5 months. I would like to immerse myself in your lifestyle to learn more about sustainable living and farming.
    I am a quiet person with a lot of curiosity. I have enjoyed many interests over the years, including glassblowing, metal/woodworking, photography, aerial fitness, and short filmmaking. I have worked in marketing as a coordinator of events and as a copywriter, and I help my dad with his social media accounts for his business on Etsy - WoodenWishe! I have most recently gotten into the film industry in the locations department after working on a short film project over the last year.
    I have also worked as a caregiver for a woman with a mobile disability and often find myself gravitating towards roles where I can help people one-on-one. While working for Lush Cosmetics, I made natural bath and beauty products as a production assistant and learned about the importance of an eco-friendly brand. I also volunteered with a sea turtle conservation organization last year in Costa Rica called La Tortuga Feliz, which has been a big inspiration for me to seek out other opportunities alike.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Events & Marketing: promotional, branding, coordinating, copywriting.

    Filmmaking: locations support, script writing, props, directing.

    Personal Support Work: caregiver for mobile disabilities, including wheelchair transfers and dressing.

    Retail: cash handling, barista, hostess.

    Manufacturing: cosmetic production (pressing, moulding, pouring), packaging, shipment.

    Volunteering: sea turtle conservation, beach patrols, hatchery digging.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    In my down time, I enjoy bike riding, hiking, cafes, thrift & vintage shopping, markets, and parks. I have a dream of opening up my own matcha soft serve ice cream truck!

    I'm particularly interested in learning more about canning & preserving, beekeeping, aquaponics, harvesting, and the principles of permaculture - although I'm also open to discovering all kinds of new interests I never knew I had.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback