LaPapillone

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Antilles, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Lucia, Virgin Islands (British), Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/12/2017 - 09/03/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    403

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Nous sommes Elke, la maman (49), et Baldur, le fils (14), d' Allemagne.
    We are Elke, the mum (50) and Baldur, the son (14), from Germany.

    Nous aimons voyager :-).
    We love travelling :-)

    Nous avons visité beaucoup pays de l'Europe. Nous avons visité la Thailande et la Malaisie pour cinq mois. Nous avons vécu un an en les USA. Dans cette période nous avons passé trois mois a Hawaii où nous avons travaillé dans un jardin de famille très grande.
    We traveled a lot in Europe. We spent five months in Thailand and Malaysia. And spent a year in the US. While this time we lived three months in Hawaii and worked in a huge family garden.

    Pardon, mais je n'ai pas parler francais depuis 20 années :-(
    Sorry, but I have not talked French since 20 years :-(

    Est trés dificil pour moi ecrire en francais.
    It´s very dificult for me to write French.

    Plus en francais tot.

    The last few years we spent our time in the most beautiful countryside of Germany. It´s called "Land of the 1000 Lakes"! Here I´m running a wilderness school.

    You can find the wilderness school in the internet here: www. wildnis-pfade.de

    We really love the area were we live, but winter is cold and wet :-(

    After some years without travelling we decided to give us a little break this winter and travel in a warm area. We love islands and since we´ve never been in the caribbean so far, looks like it is time now :-)

    Because my son is now learning french in school (he already is fluent in english after one year traveling in the US) we decided to go to a French Caribean Island :-) There was a time, I by myself was nearly fluent in French, but I havent practise to long. So I hope to refresh my French.

    We love to get to know other people, diving deep into the culture from the country we´re traveling. From our experience the best way to get to know each other is living and working together :-) That´s why we look for hosts here in workaway.

    We both having many different practical skills. We love anmimals and like working on the land, like in a garden. My son is a very talented crafts person and he really likes to help.

    I am having many stories and I can teach you how to juggle :-)

    I do my best to leave a place more beautiful than I found it :-)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I´m a multi skilled person and love to learn new things, especially every kind of crafts. So I can do many different things: gardening, farming, animal care, working with tourists, language practice, teaching, cooking, building, sewing, little Computer / Internet (like writing texts or adding picutures, little word press), helping with your children and in the house. Since I´m a Wilderness Instructor and running a Wilderness School in Germany, so I´m pretty much skilled with all kinds of wilderness skills.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, little french, very little spanish

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    A few years ago we lived in Hawaii for three month where we took care of a huge family garden in the jungle. We lived in a tent with an outdoor kitchen. So we have already some experience with work in a tropical garden. My son loved to get the fresh green coconut off the trees, choping down the bananas ;-) and selling the greens on the market, while I was responsible for watering, weeding, seeding and harvesting :-)

    This year I started a huge garden project for traditional, old european herbs, fruits and vegetables. Soon I ´m uploading some pictures from what I could create in the first year until now.

    We both are experienced travellers who lived in different communities. We are open minded, easy going people. My son is a good playmate and connecting everywhere very fast with other children even if they are in a different age.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      none

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

spring 2017 - my son having fun while hangin out ;-)
fall 2016 - one of the five lakes surrounding our village
spring 2016 - my son while practicing flintknapping
winter 2016 - looking out from the window
summer 2016 - thats me, while holding a wild plant workshop
Sommer 2015 - my son steering the huge boat from our friends
Sommer 2015 - exploring lakes in our area with the boat from our friends
swimming in one of our lakes
Summer 2015
Fall 2017

Feedback