Oscar & Helen

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Facebook verified

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    India
    View all
  • Description

    We are both retired teachers, living just north of Manchester, England. Oscar taught Chemistry, some English and Maths. Helen taught History, French and English. We have done paid and voluntary work with children, young people and adults and have experience of working with community organisations.

    We like being outdoors, enjoying gardening and walking - Oscar goes running ( 10K and more ) and plays competitive tennis.

    We go travelling regularly - visiting countries in Asia, Africa and Europe. We can get by in several languages between us.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    We're interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Can do most jobs in the garden and the house. Have teaching and related skills. Oscar has a level 2 Fitness Instructor's Certificate and we both practice yoga regularly. Have some experience of looking after animals.

    Have done a fair amount of DIY and building work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    67 & 73

  • What else ...

    Oscar is super-fit, strong and healthy. We can both tackle almost any job.

    Due to commitments at home we cannot both always volunteer together.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mainly vegetarian + fish.. can survive on bread and fresh fruit and vegetables.

Friends

Feedback