Michelle

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/12/2018 - 15/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Michelle and I've been travelling and working around the world for the past 9 years. After travelling through Asia I lived in New Zealand for a couple of years then came over to Canada and traveled and lived in Whistler for a couple of years before coming back to the UK for a year to spend time with my family. Ive found that I'm never happy staying in one place for too long and so I left again and have used workaway to create an exciting life for myself. I've always been on the go since my university days where I studied art.
    I'm now looking for new adventures once more! I received my Canadian residency but I have no plans in stone other than I want to learn more about being self sustainable and outdoor living. Ideally somewhere I could learn as I work would be perfect. I'm at the age where I am ready to push my limits, learn and grow. I have been self teaching foraging skills so anyone that could help me learn more would be brilliant. A phrase that has stuck with me is that ‘I want to build a life I don’t need a vacation from’ and that's how I see my life.
    In the last year I have had the most wonderful Workaway experiences firstly working at a remote lodge in the North west territories. Learning about off grid living in sub zero temperature's with the Aurora lighting the night sky. During the day I spent learning a huge amount from cookery, trail building, water pumping, and maintaining the waste systems as well as meeting friends for life! After volunteering there I didn't think it would get any better but I spent the summer off grid in the Chilcotin mountain range in BC. There I spent my time really learning the art of 5*️ cookery and presentation whilst cultivation my love of the outdoors becoming a hiking guide with guests and foraging with guests. I've had the most wonderful experiences that have enriched my life more that I could imagine. (I am now employed by both lodges and return each year)
    I'm very strong and have a great work ethic and I'm not scared of getting stuck into a task. I like to be busy and I am constantly looking for my next project and I am extremely flexible as I have no ties. If you think I would be a good fit with your projects I'd be more than happy to discuss it further!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I am strong
    I can work in the outdoors in all weather
    I can make people smile
    I am really good at cleaning
    I have a strong stomach
    I have butchered animals under supervision
    I've helped build a tipi
    I know some basic foraging skills
    I am creative
    I can cook
    I have a very good work ethic
    I know when a project has beaten me and can ask for help if needed.
    I can laugh at myself.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I really want a new adventure, I want to learn as I work. Something has to change in my life and I'm hoping to learn some new skills will take me down a new path. I'm always happy to share what I learn and learn from what is shared with me. :-)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'll literally eat anything.

Photos

Feedback