Kevin

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Email verified
Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I'm much more of a mountain person than a beach person, probably because I don't really like to just be doing nothing. Love gardening, exercise and learning new cultures.

    My next destination:

    Paris, France - from Sep 2024 until Jun 2025
    View all
  • Description

    I'm an extremely active 57 year old English teacher from North America. I love my job, especially because I have time between posts which allows me to do things using my hands. I'm extremely goal oriented and enjoy hard work.
    I'm very lucky because my job satisfies my love of travel while connecting with people from all over the world and Workaway satisfies my need to reconnect to doing something physical. I'm self sufficient and also happy to work on a team. I love working outside as well, even in less than perfect weather.
    Having owned a very old home also has equipped me with a lot of skills beyond just maintenance and painting. I like to use common sense to solve all manner of problems.

    Ahora estoy en Salamanca apriendo Espanol, Estare alegre ayudarte mejorar tu ingles pero tambien quiere aprovechar la oportunidad continuar mis extudias en espanol. Mi nivel actual es mas o menos B2

  • Interests

    Winter sports
    Plant care
    Farming
    Charity work
    Art & design
    Animals
    Pets
    Performing arts
    Outdoor activities
    Languages
    History
    Gardening
    Fitness
    Culture
    DIY & crafts
    Cooking & food
    Carpentry
    Architecture
    Adventure sports
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I'm an English teacher by profession. Always interested in inproving my Spanish and French

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Languages
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a lot of skills relating to building. I shy away from electrical but not much else. I have recently done some finish carpentry projects I'm quite proud of. Comfortable on a back hoe and front loader, fairly good at flat cement work and really enjoy "heavy" gardening including chain saws, electric trimmers and good old fashioned shovels. Reasonably handy with plumbing, excluding copper.
    On the more social side of things I get along really well with pre-teens and teens as I interact with them a lot in my job. I have up to date background checks for working with kids as part of my summer jobs at teen English camps in the UK.
    I have an Irish passport which makes me leagal for work in both the EU as well as The UK

  • Age

    57

  • What else ...

    I'm very active and do best when busy. I am also social, otherwise I wouldn't love teaching so much, but I still absolutely need time alone to "recharge" my batteries. I really enjoy cooking, exploring new cultures and and have always valued excersize and fitness as a core part of my wellbeing. I'm happy to take direction but also perfectly capable of seeing what needs to be done and just doing it.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Photos

Friends

Feedback