James

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Good Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Friends (3)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    North Carolina, United States
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! My name is James. I am 30 years old from the Central Coast of California (Santa Cruz) home of the Redwoods and Pacific Ocean.

    KEYWORDS
    Cheerful, Thoughtfull, Good with others, Inventive, Positive Attitude, Sense of Humor, Attention to Detail, Independent.

    SKILLS
    A willing learner. Not specially skilled. I am able-bodied and can pay attention to detail. Interested in the workings of small business (see below).

    PRESENT GOALS
    Experience a back-to-earth / sustainable setting in the model of a business (tourism / event / retreat center type). Gain insight into the realities of operating a tourism / event business. Acquire hands-on skills along with "perspective". Increase appreciation for a communal lifestyle. Discover more ways in which people can come together with purpose and benevolence.

    FUTURE GOALS
    My dream is to start a multi-purpose retreat center in Europe. I would like to gain more direct experience in this realm so that I can start my own someday. It would incortporate elements such as: personal growth, community building, craftsmanship training and apprentiship, full & part-time community, health and wellness, adventure, self-expression, spirituality, etc. (everything unique)

    FAMILY BACKGROUND
    I come from a good and loving family. My father is a dynamic and passionate business owner and CEO of a medical supplies (distributor) company. I have gained some perspective from the company, but it is not my "calling" to join.

    My mother is a beautiful and loving woman with much energy as well, she is an artist and landscape designer. They are no longer married! I have one younger sister who is also artistic. My grandparents also helped increase my appreciation of the world outside the US and in Europe, particularly.

    PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND
    Tourism, Sales, Independent Marketing. Many unfinished university experiences in my 20's (in Europe, mostly)

    ABOUT ME
    I'm a cheerful and thoughtful guy who loves interacting with various people, which is my main interest in travel. I like to make others feel good -- what can I say?! I am sensitive and social, for sure, but also highly independent: I need time on my own. I can work in groups or alone, but I tend to want to be a leader of a group. I try to bring something positive to the group I find myself with.

    Although I can seem quite carefree and lighthearted, I actually care very much about finding a way to work hard and contribute to others and the world. I value truth, honesty, justice and communication. People tend to get the impression that I am a somewhat mysterious and experienced person, but I am not as much as I may come off as.

    LIKES / DISLIKES
    Experiencing Europe gives me an experience that fill in what I don't have as an American, which is important to me. I have traveled to Europe some half dozen times on my own since 2011. I find Europeans to have some developed characteristics that are usually missing in Americans: honesty, a certain level of comfort or natural confidence, a good kind of pride or value of culture, logic, sincerity, reserve, and peace, actually! I don't want to put too many words to it nor do I want to be too down on all Americans.

    I don't like dishonest or rude, loud people. I generally don't like modern culture, poor music, unhealthy food, lifestyles, and I don't watch TV. I like contemplation, books, history, literature, and good music and of course, honesty.

    HOBBIES
    I used to be an active drummer, but circumstances have prevented me from that. I enjoy learning about and experiencing culture, world literature, history, politics, and music, etc. What can I say, I am like a sponge -- absorbing as much as I possibly can from my environment, and at times if I'm squeezed, I can ooze it all out and share with whoever happens to be around! Story telling and even slowly writing some short, experimental memoirs of my travels.

    CONCLUSSION
    All in all, I am a strongly independent minded person, thoughtful and also quite warm in heart. My friends would say I am a very "original" person who doesn't conform. But at the same time, I am NOT known as a rebel or extremist, in character.

    I've done a handful of these WorkAways in the US, Canada, and Europe now over the years! I believe something like a half-dozen.

    Physically, I am tall, strong and in great health -- so I can be useful doing anything or learning something new. I will not be lazy and wait to be gotten out of bed, or anything like that!

    Note: Although I have only a few WorkAway references, I have some references available here:

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0ByM2cgswZ2XWVEtydlNzcmFEa0E

    -- James

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Photography
    Culture
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Good with people, tourism, attention to detail, learning something new or teaching others.

    I'm not a skilled craft person, per se -- But I'm always willing to try something new!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I'm not exactly a typical American person, but very interested in other people and the countries that I spend time in outside the USA.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback