Frederico

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/08/2020 - 25/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Frederico. I am an adventurous, social and easygoing person=)
    I studied biology and I currently work as a park ranger in Southwest Portugal.

    Despite having lived in a city for most of my life, I always had a deep connection with nature. And after one year of living in a small town with lots of contact with the countryside, I found out that I am really passionate about rural life=)

    Considering travelling I've had some enriching experiences:
    Between my studies, I worked/volunteered with a multicultural team studying birds behaviour in Cordoba, Spain. We did a lot of outdoors hardwork, form fixing nest boxes, catching and ringing birds to tree climbing to place cameras near bird nests.
    I traveled to the Madeira archipelago during my Masters fieldwork and studied a seabird population in the remote Desertas Islands. During a month and a half I was part of a great team of rangers, researchers and volunteers, and I learned a lot from them.

    I want to travel with workaway because for me it´s a unique opportunity to discover myself, get to know different cultures, share my life experiences with other people and learn new skills and ways of living.
    I particularly want to know how to survive in the countryside and grow my own food and take care of the land=) I intend to do this in a mutual way, by giving my happy disposition and energy to help people develop their projects and at the same time staying with them being part of their lives for some weeks, having at least some meals and conversations together and learning the most out of the experience.

    I try to be as flexible as possible with travel dates, but I currently have a full time job, so please understand that I can only stay with hosts and help out for 15 to 20 days, which is more or less the number of holidays I can take per year.

    I want to begin my workaway experience by travelling to some of the northern european and eastern european countries and get to know a bit of their old traditions, lifestyle and music/songs, and to learn how people there live differently (or not) from where I come from.

    My favorite hobbies are mountaineering/hiking, birdwatching, travelling with friends, gardening, reading, sports (rugby, tennis, football, canoeing) and to play videogames. I love to be outdoors but I also like to play board games with friends and family and have enriching and joyful conversations at mealtime.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about: 

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    As a ranger, I do various activities from fire watching to species surveying and environmental education with children, so I consider myself a flexible and adaptable person.

    I am always curious and eager to learn, and I try to help out in every task that I can! I fit well in a team but I'm also ok with working independently.

    I live alone so I can cook for myself and for others, clean the house, wash clothes, etc.

    I have volunteered in Lisbon's Zoo and other wildlife reserves, so I´m happy to care for animals and I pay attention to their overall health and their needs.

    I have no problem in working in the field, and I enjoy getting my hands in the dirt, either digging, weeding or helping out in building tasks.

    I am developing a particular interest in sustainable ways of farming (like the use of permaculture principles). To be honest, I still have very little experience in agriculture, but helping my grandmother with her garden, when I was a kid, and weeding, planting crops like tomatoes and sowing broad beans in one of my work colleagues´s organic garden, I think I have some notions about most typical crops, soil health and what a plant normally needs to grow. But this is a hole new world for me to explore!

    I like to work outdoors and I have a reasonable level of fitness to do physical work (like chopping and carrying wood, help in construction/building activities, etc.)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    From 2014 to last year I have volunteered in an NGO (called Re-food) and worked with people from various backgrounds in an effort to take food surpluses from restaurants and supermarkets, and distribute them to people in need and thus reduce our food waste. It was a fulfilling experience to me in many ways

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback