Freya

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mongolia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/09/2019 - 18/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Freya and I am from Vancouver, Canada!

    For almost 1.5 years (2017 to 2018), I was on a sabbatical break to pursue other passions such as traveling and being part of local community projects. Some of my goals for this career break is to de-couple from routine of a full time corporate job and grow differently. Through workaway, I hope to secure experiences that will allow me to learn from and help others. The bonus is I get to live and experience the local culture.

    I have participated in many different workaway experiences since early 2017, such as:
    - a scuba dive cultural exchange in the Philippines (Dauin, Negros Island)
    - assist in cleaning and painting the interior of a new guesthome in the Philippines (Coron, Palawan)
    - helped build a long house, and landscaping duties in a Borneo jungle camp
    - English conversation practice tutoring in Japan and Korea
    - stayed with a lovely family to help manage their guesthome in rural Japan
    - family homestay experience in Kathmandu, Nepal

    I have 8 years of project management experience working in software project development and support. I can understand technical concepts fast and have intermediate computer skills. I am a fast learner and have a fond interest in technology, and curious about its social impacts. Currently, I work as a Digital Project Manager in Canada.

    Remote & off-the-beaten path travel appeals to me. I enjoy traveling, experiencing different cultures and spaces, meeting new people, and simply learning about different things.

    My style of travel tends to focus on outdoor adventures near mountains or water - I am an avid runner, alpine hiker, and also enjoy water sport activities like scuba diving and surfing.

    I prefer to keep a vegetarian diet (dairy, eggs and seafood are okay at times) but I am also open minded to try different foods while traveling. I have many experiences living with others, and do my part. I respect the common spaces, and keep my personal space clean and tidy.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - project management, particularly software background. Thus, I am very organized, and have strong communication and interpersonal skills
    - Very familiar with Word applications - excel, outlook, word processing
    - Wordpress blog creation and maintenance
    - Research - I like planning, and have done many trips on my own. I am a detailed planner.
    - Adaptable to new tasks, given initial guidance
    - comfortable to work independently/self-sufficient, or in groups.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Tagalog

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    - When I can, I write and maintain a personal blog about my travels in Wordpress: https://freytures.wordpress.com/
    - Being healthy through being active is important to me; I like trail running, hiking, playing beach volleyball, and I'd like to do more surfing. I also like do yoga and meditation to help keep me grounded
    - I studied Systems Engineering in University, and although I am very rusty with computer programming, I am a fast learner with technical concepts.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer vegetarian diet (eggs, dairy, fish are ok!) but I can be flexible and will eat meat sometimes.

Photos

Workaway in Dauin, Philippines. Scuba dive cultural exchange project
Workaway in Dauin, Philippines. Focus was scuba diving!
Workaway at Dauin, Philippines. With local kids learning how to scuba dive. http://www.ten-daji.com/volunteer-diving-project-give-back-community/
Workaway in Dauin, Philippines. Beach clean up with other workawayers and locals
Workaway in Coron, Philippines. I painted doors and walls as part of renovation of a new living space
Workaway in Coron, Philippines. With other volunteers
Workaway near Tip of Borneo, support building of new Longhouse
Workaway near Tip of Borneo. Painted doors and walls inside new longhouse
Workaway near Tip of Borneo, support building bed bunk frame
Workaway near Tip of Borneo. With the staff of the jungle camp resort's beach restaurant and cafe
Workaway near Tip of Borneo. I painted the shower block walls
From workaway in Wakimachi Japan, I helped at a guesthome for 1 month. main activities were preparing Japanese beds on tatami floor, and helping guests.
for 2 months, I volunteered as an English Tutor in Busan, South Korea at a Language Cafe. I helped locals improve their English conversation skills.
for 1.5 months, I volunteered at an English language cafe near Tokyo, Japan. I helped locals practice and improve their English conversation skills.

Feedback