Shannon

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, French Polynesia, Guatemala

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/09/2018 - 02/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    368

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi all! I am a 2018 high school graduate taking a gap year. I hope to connect with people around the world and improve my language skills.
    I am curious, excited, and hardworking. I have a calm demeanor and tend to think before I speak. I come off quiet at first, but give me some time and I will open up. I believe because of this, I work well with animals and children. I aim to please and make people happy. I listen to instructions well and would like to become apart of your family. I like directions and tasks to do. I am eager to learn new skills, even if I have zero experience.
    I don't have any experience working on any eco projects or permaculture or even just a veggie farm, but I'd really like to gain skills in that area.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching basic language to young children
    Care for animals
    Experience in restaurant kitchen
    Experience in retail store
    Experience working on dairy farm
    Experience working with large animals such as cows and horses-- as well as small animals such as dogs, cats and rats :)

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic French

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I adore animals and come from a farming family, so I know how to put others needs before my own. I'm also super interested in caring for our environment and am going to school to major in Environmental Studies. This year I would love to gain some in-field experience working with different eco systems and communities around the world.

    I'd really like to improve my French! I can understand more than I can speak. I was an au pair for outside of Paris for a couple of months before coming home for the holidays. Now I am ready to explore more of France and the French language! I have a sturdy build for many hours of "playing horse" and piggy back rides :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback