Eric

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Argentina
    View all
  • Description

    I'm an experienced certified Yoga Teacher (10 years, 20 countries), also working as Pilates Instructor, Personal Trainer and Massage Therapist, traveling nonstop since 2015. Before, I was a professional musician (guitar/vocals) for 15 years and performed in 25 countries. I'm vegan and neither drink nor smoke, but respect other approaches to life. I have lived and worked in various countries, including half a year in New York (US) as a radio reporter, a winter on the island of Gozo (Malta) writing a novel, 3 months in Nepal and India volunteering in orphanages and studying Yoga, 1 year working in a hostel on the island of Sicily (Italy), 1 year teaching Yoga in a mountain village in Colombia, 1.5 years teaching Yoga, English and German in Ecuador and 9 months each volunteering in Mexico, Guatemala and El Salvador. I'm currently (January 2023) teaching Yoga in Chile.

    Past adventures, 2010 - 2015

    2010: 3 months volunteering in orphanages in Nepal, studying Yoga in India
    2012: walked 750 km on the Camino de Santiago through Spain
    2013: cycled 1800 km from Hanoi to Saigon through Vietnam
    2014: 3 months in Australia, looking after the kids of a bilingual host family, house-sitting and gardening. 1 month in New Zealand, cooking vegan meals, teaching Yoga. Returned to Germany for a few months, started again February 2015, haven't stopped since.

    Recent adventures, 2015 - 2020

    2 months at a permaculture farm in Spain, planting veggies
    1 month at an organic farm in Italy, planting lettuce, walking the dogs
    2 weeks in Italy, organizing the studio of a musician, decluttering the 400 year old house
    2 months at an Eco building camp in Poland, cooking vegan food, teaching Yoga
    1 month at a vegan festival in Italy, food prep, teaching Yoga
    2 months in a guest house in Turkey. playing guitar at dinner, teaching Yoga, doing dishes
    1 month at a vegan B&B in Italy, picking olives, walking the dog, teaching Pilates
    1 year (!) in Italy (Catania, Sicily), working in a hostel and as a musician
    1 month backpacking across Cuba
    3 months in a community in Mexico City, cooking vegan food, renovating the center
    3 weeks in a guest house in Puerto Escondido (Mexico) as Personal Trainer
    2 months in a raw vegan shop in Zihuatanejo (Mexico), walking the dogs, house-sitting
    2 months in the Rocky Mountains (USA), vegan cooking, volunteering at an animal shelter
    2 months in Belize, working at a vegan farm, couchsurfing along the coast
    3 weeks in a cooking school in Antigua (Guatemala), translating classes Spanish to English
    1 week in San Juan del Obispo (Guatemala), organic tooth paste production
    5 months in a cafe at Lake Atitlan (Guatemala), teaching Yoga, performing live music
    1 week on a sailboat at Lake Izabal (Guatemala), cooking vegan meals, scrubbing the deck
    4 months teaching Yoga + Massage in a Jungle Hostel in Semuc Champey (Guatemala)
    8 months teaching Yoga + Massage in a Beach Hotel in Intipuca (El Salvador)
    2 weeks in a hostel in Samara, receptionist (Costa Rica)
    2 weeks in a Guest House / Event Center in Ojochal (Costa Rica), dog-sitting, gardening
    1 month in a dog shelter in Pueblo Nuevo (Costa Rica), training abandoned dogs
    3 months in a B&B in San Cristobal de las Casas (Mexico), reception and housekeeping
    1 month teaching Yoga and working on a local cacao farm on Ometepe Island (Nicaragua)
    2 months teaching Yoga in El Valle de Anton and Panama City (Panama)

    Current adventures, 2020 - 2023

    2 weeks teaching Yoga in Medellin (Colombia)
    1 year teaching Yoga at an Eco Lodge in Jardin (Colombia)
    1 year teaching Yoga at a Boutique Hotel in Vilcabamba (Ecuador)
    3 months teaching German, English, child care, dog training in Riobamba (Ecuador)
    3 weeks teaching English, German and Yoga in Ambato (Ecuador)
    500 km cycling from Riobamba to Vilcabamba (Ecuador)
    1 month teaching English at a public school in Puerto Inca (Peru)
    3 weeks selling homemade vegan pastry at a community in BioBio (Chile)

    I'm a reliable grown-up, young at heart, clean and a true minimalist - my backpack is 5 kg, my (deserted) home in Germany is a camping van from 1985. See you soon somewhere on this superb planet,

  • Interests

    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Van life
    Animals
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Languages
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Being a certified Yoga/Pilates Teacher and Personal Trainer, I can help losing weight, gaining flexibility and getting stronger. I'm happy to cook vegan food for people, If you need a house-sitter and/or somebody to look after your pets, I've done both many times. And if you've got a guitar, I can teach you how to play and sing or entertain your guests with classics from Cash to Sinatra.

  • Age

    52

  • What else ...

    If you think catering for vegans is difficult, think again: Fruits, vegetables, grains and beans are available everywhere. I often cook for people who are interested in trying vegan food, it's delicious, cheap and quick. I totally respect other diets, to each their own.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan but care-free, simply fruits, veggies, rice, oats, beans etc., happy to cook for myself

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback