Vincent

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Morocco

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/08/2020 - 10/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I am retired now and occasionally consult for non-profits. Today, my world is mostly about travel. I am an experienced Couchsurfer having hosted (or been hosted by) more than 100 people (mostly young backpackers and Europeans on their "gap" year) from all over the world at my home. I totally enjoy people and many who have stayed with me return for visits and still maintain contact with me as their "US uncle." I have also stayed with many folks all over the world and truly enjoy travel that has me connected to people.
    In 2018-2020, I have completed 7 workaway experiences. All 5 stars and all so different and amazing: I have worked in Tangier and Bangkok at a hostel/ hotel as a receptionist and bartender; I helped mix clay and build structures at a Buddhist commune outside of Khon Kaen, Thailand, as well as cook for 35 people; and in Vietnam and Morocco I taught English. (Please see my workaway references.) I look forward to more travel in 2020!
    Meditator, philosopher, chill, open-minded, self-motivated and a team player.
    My references attest to my hospitality and ability to make strangers quickly feel like friends and "at-home." I am an AirBNB host for over three years with a perfect 5 star hospitality track record. I am interested in work experiences in almost any part of the world.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am able to meet and greet guests, room cleaning and maintenance, courteously resolve guest issues, pet sitting, gardening, know Microsoft Office products, reservation system software (quick learner of any software system), tour guide, process improvement consultant, non-profit consultant (See my LinkedIn profile for more). PADI Advanced Diver and diving since 1986. Bartending skills are still there from my many years as a barkeep.
    I am very willing to learn skilled trades. Don't get me wrong... I can handle a hammer and nails. But willing to learn/do masonry, mosaic, ceramic. I spent two college summers doing lawn cutting, landscaping and gardening at a very large private sanctuary. I have been a meditator for many years and recently completed Vipassana 10 day meditative training. I have started to recommit to yoga for health and well-being. Happy to commit from 2-8 weeks to my host's needs and to represent their business in the best possible way.
    Meditator, philosopher, chill, open-minded, self-motivated, team player.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    64

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    My passport lists me as Vincent, but I am Jim to all my friends. Happy to share my personal profiles on AirBNB (I have been a "Superhost" for all of the three years I have been hosting) and on Couchsurfing to add to my references as being a great host.
    I taught high school for two years before becoming a State of Wisconsin Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW). I have skills working with families and children as well as with clinical patients who have emotional and behavioral challenges. I easily mix and get along with young and older folks.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback