Victoria

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2020 - 24/04/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I was born in London, carry a NZ backpack and an Australian drivers' licence so I'm a real colonial commoner!
    Now in Melbourne in lockdown but after that I'm interested in Victorian or Tasmanian short term work aways.
    Spent the last four years travelling and working as an English teacher in the UK and Spain. Still working on building my English teaching skills. And my Spanish. And writing.
    As well as theatre and literature, I love walking. I walked the Camino del Norte y Primitivo June/July of 2016. Sauntering through rural Spain, the coast and the mountains, was an unforgettable experience.
    In the summer of 2017 I worked for four separate WorkAway hosts in the North of France. All were in seventeenth century farmhouses in various states of renovation. I gardened, painted, and prepared furniture for upholstery, cooked, helped with pottery and I cleaned! I was so lucky with my generous hosts I was able to see a lot of the country. In the summer of 2018 I worked in the south of England, in Devon and Wiltshire before heading to Brighton to teach English. On my way back to Spain I called in to Antwerp, Belgium and worked in a vegan restaurant for a couple of weeks.
    I returned to the UK again in June 2019 and went straight to work in Devon, helping with an exciting eco-project.
    I'm keen to get back into a productive garden; really missing my herbs. I'm also extremely interested in learning to grow natural fibres such as linen, flax and hemp. I'm very much looking forward to meeting thoughtful, creative people and helping out as much as I can.
    What can I do for you?

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Primarily a writer, I have a master degree in media and communications, which kind of sums up my life. I specialise in communication using words, pictures, videos, theatre, puppets ... (Though probably more dilettante than master if truth be told!) I've worked as a script editor/storyliner in tv soaps and I've been a puppeteer/performer in theatre-in-education.
    As well as tv and theatre I've worked in admin and kitchens, gardens and schools! I can tell most edible plants from their less tasty cousins and I'm well-versed in daily cooking. I'm fond of absorbing tasks such as painting or making things and I love getting my hands dirty.
    Also, current Australian Working With Children's Card and Police Check.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    UK/NZ/Australian

  • What else ...

    I'm a greenie and vegan.

    You can follow me
    www.instagram.com/vickoz/
    www.ourrelationshipwithnature.com
    www.facebook.com/Victoria.Osborne.author/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback