Rachel & Robin

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/12/2020 - 01/09/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling


    currently located near peniche portugal

  • Description

    New to workaway joined as we wanted to have experiences together as a couple of traveling and learning and meeting people along the way.
    We're really interested in learning about sustainable living as the dream is to one day buy a plot of land together and set up an off grid home living off what the earth has to offer us - long way to go yet so on here to work live and learn from the experiences of people who have gone before us.
    We're from England and met in Leeds 3 years ago, We've both done plenty of couch surfing and found it an amazing way to get to know a country and its people sharing experiences lives and laughter. we love living in community and both lived in communal house shares before coming to Portugal.

    Robins a musician by background so we're keen to find somewhere welcoming to a musical way of life where he can also teach violin lessons online from and doesn't mind him going off to play gigs (when coronavirus allows!) also it would be amazing if the host or another volunteer was musical and could jam with him and he can share his songwriting. Robin also loves to cook and knows his way around a spice cabinet fresh creative vegetable stir fries are his favorite meal to cook. Robin came to Portugal in October paving the way and has done a few informal work aways olive picking and sustainable farming since arrival. Robins got loads of experience doing charity work with elderly people, disabled people and people with mental health difficulties also teaching violin and guitar and English. He has also become a proficient Portuguese driver (I hear its a unique skill!) and has his own car which we are traveling around in. Robin likes to swim in the sea, cycle, draw and paint, camp, walk and generally be in the great outdoors. Robins also recently founded a business making flutes from bamboo

    Rachel's a nurse by background so is naturally the caring hardworking type but aside from nursing has plenty of other skills. Shes recently done a basic woodwork DIY course and is keen to practice the skills she has learnt recently trying her hand at making furniture from bamboo but is yet to perfect the art. Rachel is also creative and enjoys knitting and sewing and making things to wear and use. Rachel's got experience volunteering teaching pottery, plasterboarding a house, giving swimming lessons, house and dog sitting, teaching lessons in a school in Tanzania, and has been tending to an allotment for the last year mainly growing vegetables and helping out on her friends orchard. She loves long walks, beautiful countryside and lounging in her hammock and has recently gotten into baking (really tasty) bread and whittling wood.

    We're both keen to learn Portuguese and have experiences where we feel like we are contributing and learning in a creative and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Music
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Music (violin, guitar, singing, tabla, sitar, drums, clarinet)
    Songwriting
    DIY (basic stuff)
    Gardening (we have an allotment and have been growing vegetables)
    Sewing
    Painting/decorating
    Nursing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Hindi: Beginner

  • Age

    29 & 29

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback