Mark

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Austria, Colombia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Montenegro, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/08/2016 - 23/08/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Mark. I have been a craftsman working in stone and wood my whole life. I am a skilled stone mason and timber framer. I love to fit stones together! I am a certified dry stone waller with the Dry Stone Wallers Assoc. of Great Britain (DSWA). I enjoy and am very good at designing a new project and creating it from nothing and repairing/restoring existing stone work. I am a competent brick and block layer (with mortar), have repaired chimneys, steps, walls etc.

    I have over 15 years of experience with timber framing, building new structures and making structural repairs to antique ones. I was a member of an international team of framers building a synagogue replica in Poland, an office building in England and various public and private structures in the U.S.

    I have over 20 years experience restoring antique furniture and have been working on farms and with animals my whole life.

    I have 8 siblings and 26 nieces and nephews!...so I am very good with people and have a lot of patience. I am excellent with children and a very good teacher. I have been a teacher of teenagers in the past at an organic farm. I taught them to build things and together we built several substantial and pragmatic buildings.

    I am a very healthy eater (mostly vegetarian when I'm in the U.S.) and a good cook. I prefer to live on a farm or at least in the country around animals and gardens. I have worked through WWOOF in Italy and had a very good experience.
    I attended Rhode Island School of Design in the U.S. and spent one year based in Rome in an honors independent study program. I have relatives in Sicily and Calabria. I have been to Sweden for a friends' wedding, Poland and England for carpentry projects, Austria, Portugal, Ukraine for travel.

    I love teamwork and having the opportunity to offer my skills for a good cause. I also require some alone time almost every day.

    I do not smoke and have little patience for cigarette smoke. I am completely drug free including legal drugs. I do not smoke pot (marijuana) but I do not mind if you do. I practice and study natural medicine. I drink socially and with food, mostly wine or beer.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    natural building (stone, wood, clay, straw, brick)
    stone wall building/repair
    timber framing
    restoration/structural repair
    antique furniture restoration
    furniture design/making
    cooking
    gardening/farming
    animals
    drawing

  • Languages spoken

    English, very little Italian

  • Age

    46

  • Nationality

    American (Italian, German descent)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback