Shams

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Greece, Turkey, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/03/2020 - 01/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling


    A Canadian passionate about people, travel, language learning, laughter, and crazy adventures.

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hello, I’m Shams! Originally from Montreal, Canada but I call home wherever me and my backpack are. Currently that’s the Northwest Territories:)

    Within the past few years I’ve traveled a fair bit, encouraging my curiosity to discover our planet and how we may live a more harmonious life. Sustainable living is something I am very passionate about and forever invested to continue learning. I am a huge nature lover I am my happiest when i get to spend lots of time outdoors. One of the main reasons i like to travel is to learn new skills revolving on the outdoors and leading a self-sufficient lifestyle.

    I’ve done four workaways in the past from working at a family farm, to shooting promotional content for a boutique hotel, help plaster a house using natural resources and I am currently living in a farm in the Northwest Territories learning about sustainable living and taking care of animals (chickens, goats, sheeps, cows, rabbits and geese). I love this way of travel because I get to really be with the locals and learn in depth about their lifestyle.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    licensed PADI advanced water diver
    Graphic Design certificate from CALARTS,
    photography, videography

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Would like to practice my Mandarin

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    interested in jewellery making, learning about carpentry and making instruments.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback