Josh

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/11/2020 - 14/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!

    I'm setting off into the wilds of South Australia for the last two months of 2020 - and trying to turn the current crisis into an opportunity to see and experience more of my beautiful homeland. I've lately returned from Vietnam, where I was living with my Canadian fiancée. The pandemic scare saw us returning to our respective countries to be with our families, which has sadly left us stranded and apart for the foreseeable future... In any event, I'm very keen to get out and to continue doing what I love best - traveling!

    I also love books (perhaps too much - they tend to take up more space in my backpack than clothes) and I like writing - or at least planning out stories that I one day hope to write... I enjoy watching films and I never go anywhere without my external hard drive, which is chockablock with movies.

    I enjoy cooking, though my list of recipes is quite modest, and I like to use fresh ingredients. I'm vegetarian and intent on becoming vegan, but I've found it hard to give up cheese.

    I've previously Wwoofed on a small farm west of Hobart and at a wildlife sanctuary on Tasmania's east coast, both of which were great fun. For six months in 2017 my partner and I traveled through Europe and Morocco, where we volunteered on farms, gardens and B&Bs using a couples account. I'm very glad to say we had wonderful experiences in each and every place! From July to November of 2019 I Workawayed my way through England, Scotland and Ireland, mostly helping out with cooking, cleaning, gardening and dog walking on smaller properties.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Having volunteered at B&Bs in Estonia and Germany, I am accustomed to shift work and a busy schedule of cleaning, bed-making and meal preparation. I helped to renovate a cottage outside of Krakow, which involved quite a bit of sanding, as well as mixing and applying a great deal of cob. I also chopped wood, milked goats and weeded dandelions. In the U.K. I helped out at a garden in Tring by insulating a greenhouse, constructing a hotbed and taking care of the family's lovely cat (he was very old and took lots of medicine!) In Andalusia I shovelled a whole hill's worth of horse poop (...not exactly a skill, but I'd be willing to do it again) and helped to construct a chicken coop. I took care of a great many dogs throughout England, Scotland and Ireland, including two surprisingly lazy lurchers in Devon, a disabled blue heeler in County Clare, a nervous pair of Cocker Spaniels in the Scottish Borders and an enormous Alsatian in Sherwood Forest (my favourite, though he was a terror to walk).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Japanese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    37

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do my best to be vegetarian!

Photos

Feedback