Rudi

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, France, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 01/07/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Rudi, a recently retired high school music teacher who was born in Holland. Emigrated with my parents to Australia as a one year old. After a short stay in Holland in my early 20's I traveled to Norway where I stayed for 15 years, mostly living and running a bio dynamical small holding using fjording horses, producing hand churned butter. Moved back to Australia in 1985 where I built my family a home on 50 acres. After a marriage breakup, studied to be a teacher. Retired as a music teacher end of 2014. Outside of Workaway I have been on extended stays on the biggest bio dynamic farms in Norway. At first (due to my age as I was a lot older than most of the 'praktikanter' or farming students), the farmers, Rune and Inger, were hesitant at inviting me to stay on their farm, run as a foundation. However, on the day I left in 2015, Rune said he was glad they had taken that step as I had successfully completed some major painting projects and also had a positive personal social influence (with my Australian sense of humour?).
    In amongst all this I have 3 grown children and also one grand-daughter.
    One of my focus's is to find a host near the ocean, to surf, which is a passion of mine, almost equal to my main obsession, music! I am a semi-professional trumpet player.
    The whole purpose of my joining this organisation is to work for my food and lodgings whilst traveling. Having recently retired, my income dropped dramatically yet I now have plenty of time.
    MY CV
    Rudolf Strating
    Born 30.03.51 Heerlen, Holland
    • Finished High School Form V in 1968
    • Joined R.A.N. in 1968.
    • Served 5 years as a Naval Musician in the Royal Australian Navy.
    • Moved to the Netherlands in 1971.
    • Studied music for 1 year at the Maastricht Conservatorium.
    • Moved to Norway in 1973.
    • Worked as a cook in a vegetarian restaurant in Oslo for 3 years.
    • Leased a farm for 10 years implementing Biodynamic farming methods.
    • Moved back to Australia in 1983.
    • Over the next 15 years did farming work on own farm, while breeding Clydesdale draught horses in Kenilworth, Queensland.
    • Moved to Melbourne in 1998 and completed 2 years full time study at the Melbourne Rudolf Steiner Seminar. Gained an Advanced Diploma In Rudolf Steiner Education.
    • Moved to Coffs Harbour in January 2000. Commenced 3rd and 4th year BE full-time studies by correspondence through the University of New England.
    • Was admitted to the degree of Bachelor of Education on the 15th day of March 2002.
    • Taught private brass lessons at Bishop Druitt College for 3 years from 2000 as well as some casual relief teaching.
    • Completed one years full time employment as a Class 1 teacher at Chrysalis Steiner School. During this time I also took grades 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 in both Music and Woodwork.
    • In 2003 accepted the temporary position of Music Teacher at Moree Secondary College, having responsibility for 13 classes ranging from Year 7 to Year 10.
    • At the end of Term 3 I successfully completed my probationary period, thereby gaining my official Teaching Certificate from the N.S.W. Department of Education and Training.
    • In 2004 completed the temporary position of Class 5/6 teacher at Moree
    East Primary School.
    • In 2005 gained the permanent position of ‘Willing to teach’ Special Education with
    responsibility for a combined Year 7,8 and 9 IM class at Moree Secondary College.
    • In 2006 filled the role of Support Teacher-Special Education. Music lessons for IO
    students. Supporting students in the integrated classroom classified as IM .
    • In 2007 took responsibility for the IO class at Moree Secondary College.
    • After continuing on in 2008 as IO Special Education Teacher at Moree Secondary
    College, gained a transfer to Corindi Public School in Coffs Harbour as a Year 2
    Classroom Teacher.
    • Resigned from my permanent position from the DET at Corindi Public School in June 2009 for personal reasons and received Casual Approval from the DET as from this date.
    • Commenced a long term Temporary engagement as Music Teacher at South Grafton High School from June 2010 up to 2015.
    - In 2017 gained Certification To Teach in Queensland. Spent all of Term 4 teaching at Rosedale Central School. K to 12.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Built my timber own home from Australian hardwoods. Extensive painting. General farming. Serious woodworking hobby both doing sculptures as well as 'bruks kunst' or usable art - making wooden spoons and ladles. Play music (mainly classical) on the trumpet. Spent time as a house husband so I cook food and bake bread.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Age

    4

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback