Mariana

  • Portugal
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!

    I'm still deciding if I'm more like an enthusiastic squirrel doing stuff around, or a curious rabbit with new ideas all the time. Either way, I'm for sure driven by purpose and a strong will to see and be part of positive change in the world.

    I do my best to be respectful and compassionate for all beings and nature. As a lover of sustainability and social innovation, I try to be an active player in different initiatives that can bring positive outcomes for the world. I love nature and all different ways of well being and human dvelopment. I have a person-oriented personality and an eagle eye for detail.

    I feel comfortable around any kitchen trying new vegetarian recipes and in any creative renovations with DIY or upcycling projects.

    I try to be a counscious traveler and an idealist with (some) boundaries.

    I graduated in Sociology and later got another degree in International Development Cooperation.

    Some of my traveling adventures include:
    * A students exchange in the enchanted old Prague, Czech Republic where I got to explore central Europe
    * In Croatia, I assisted in a sustainability and community development project. In a small and very peculiar rural village, we involved local people in sustainable living and farming trough the ideas of permaculture.
    * In Rome, I had the chance to do a life changing internship. For 3 months, I worked in an organization supporting young female victims of violence, human trafficking and prostitution, enabling them to go back to an independent life.
    * In the USA, I did 3 months of work and travel where I babysitted before a long road trip from coast to coast, crossing nearly half of the country's states along 11.000km.
    * In Portugal, I collaborated with an immigrants association in Lisbon. Simultaneously, I also worked in a tourism company.
    * In Italian Island of Sicily, I had my first workaway experience in a beautiful hostel for 3 months.
    * Later in that year, I crossed the Atlantic again and spent two months travelling in the unique country of Cuba where I "danced" my first steps of Salsa and witnessed the mourning for Fidel Castro's passing.
    * In Mexico, I arrived in Mexico City for a workaway in a holistic eco community doing a bit of everything: cooking vegan food, helping with maintenance and organizing events. Afterwards, I headed down to another placement in the relaxed and easy going Punta Zicatela (Puerto Escondido) where I helped improving the (already) serene and special atmosphere of a guest house run by an amazing family.
    * After those incredible 6 months, I headed to the Caribbean to explore Haiti and later joining a project in neighboring Dominican Republic. There I was part of the customer service team in a very unique hotel in the "jungle".

    Some of my other travelings include Morocco, the Balkan countries and St Barthelemy Island (I worked there for a few months).

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I can work both with an agenda and methodic tasks or more independently and creatively. In either way, I look for doing the best I can and for improving every time I do it again.

    My creative side made me develop some skills in design, editing and photography.

    Due to my experience in tourism and the service industry, I'm comfortable with customer service tasks, managing reservations, managing stocks, handle clients requests, create partnerships, and organizing events.

    I can cook (some say "good") mostly vegetarian or vegan. I'm very into anything that has "raw", "fermented" or "dehidrated" before the name as not only it's a big interest but I've also been part of a project focused on that type of food.

    I really enjoy working on new details for the places, renovating (even more when the budget is short because it usually brings more creative ideas) and upcycling.

    I've worked in environmental and social projects as well as turistic, for example, as a city guide. If you need a babysitter, a housesitter or somebody to look after your pets, I've done it before. In fact, all my life I've been around animals as me as my family rescue cats and dogs to give them back for responsible adoption.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Portuguese

  • What else ...

    Looking forward to doing the best in your project :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (not a problem in any situation, since usually take the "side dishes")

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback