Kallie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Guatemala, Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/10/2020 - 20/03/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    863

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a 26 year old American who loves to surf, travel, and meet new people. I have spent a year living in Sri Lanka working at a villa spearheading events which brought in over 200 people. I also took over their social media and helped in their bar and restaurant. After this job I worked for a hostel on the south coast managing its two locations. I also helped in the restaurant, surf shop, and café. The year before that I traveled to Australia. I have recently spent 3 months in Jaco Costa Rica volunteering at a hostel from Nov-Feb 2019. After that I traveled to Panama and did a 1 month Workaway at another hostel and ATV rental company. I then spent a year nannying in Florida. I just finished up 4 months managing a restaurant on Block Island, Rhode Island. I also worked at a surf shop and helped teach surf lessons. I adapt quickly to a new situation, am easy going, and enjoy a slower and more minimalistic lifestyle. I love the beach, dogs, good friends, and new experiences.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience in resort and restaurant management, seven years as a nanny, waitressing, bartending, working in retail, teaching surf lessons, and event planning. I know basic Spanish, spent two years as a deep-water lifeguard, and starts up my own clothing line.
    I enjoy moving to a new place and immersing myself in the country's culture. I am looking forward to improving my Spanish, trying local food, and exploring the area.
    I write freelance for travel blogs and a surf camp. I also have my own blog. I have managed a villa's social media and focused on growing their following. I am very innovative and enjoy taking on new tasks.
    I have worked in reception at a top-rated hostel in Jaco Costa Rica and another hostel in Panama.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Sulfa

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, I do limit dairy and do not eat that much meat and try to eat healthy and fresh.

Photos

Feedback