Ken & Barbara

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 04/02/2022

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Ken Grant, originally from Scotland. I have experience in many different industries. I have worked in construction, tourism,security and have experience driving trucks and operating heavy machinery.
    I love travelling, hiking, motorcycles and meeting people.
    I am prepared to work in any job, if I haven’t done it before I will learn quickly.
    My name is Barbara, originally from Italy. I have experience in teaching Italian and French (managed my own language school in Australia), tourism (worked as tour leader in different countries around Europe and South America), hospitality (worked in hotels/cafes/restaurant) sales and retail. I love travelling, I am very passionate about foreign languages and cultures. I am curious and eager to learn from others therefore I am happy to be involved in any field.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Ken- ability to work independently, problem solving skills, good communication skills, friendly, easy to work with, outgoing personality.
    Barbara- positive attitude, willingness to learn, problem solving, communication, ability to work under pressure, leadership, decision making, adaptability.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    57 & 50

  • What else ...

    We are a couple. We had planned to travel by motorcycle but unfortunately due to Covid pandemic we had to change our plans a few times. We are now planning to continue our journey without our motorbikes :(
    We will be in Italy in April 2021 ready for a well deserved adventure.
    During our travel in 2019 we spent 2 months in Nepal volunteering with children at Child Welfare and Eduction (CWE), 2 months in India volunteering at Tibet World in McLeod Ganj, about a month in the ‘Stans’ exploring the nomad life.
    We also spent 2 months in Norway working on a potato farm near the Artic Circle. Ken was driving the harvester and Barbara was sorting and packing potatoes. We are looking forward to a similar experience where we get to meet, live and work with the locals

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback