Ian

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Green builds. Outdoor volunteering.

  • Description

    Hi - I'm fit and very active! I volunteer within the UK with a number of organisations (RSPB, DofE, Forestry Commission, National Parks, Wildlife Trust, PedALL (inclusive cycling charity) and when I'm not out with them, or travelling, most days will find me hiking or cycling around my home area of the New Forest in southern England.
    I'm happy working by myself but I very much enjoy working with others and learning new skills, or just new perspectives. It's always good to hear someone else's view point and share experiences.
    I retired from the rat-race almost 2 years ago and have to say I've had the best, most fulfilling, times since then. I've revisited many places from previous holidays or trips within the UK but have also managed to see some new places -- including Ecuador and Tanzania, both of which were pretty physical 'holidays' - including hiking the Inca Trail and climbing Mount Kilimanjaro.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Carpentry
    DIY & crafts
    Cooking & food
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'm a native English speaker. I have schoolboy French level but wish to become more fluent.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Hi - I have a good broad knowledge and experience of most house and land management tasks:- plumbing, electrics, painting, tiling, renovation etc, also building wire fences and repairing drystone walls. I'm able to use and maintain many tools and mechanical devices - over the years I've used most of them!
    I have an engineer's perspective.......

  • Age

    64

  • What else ...

    I've undertaken previous workaway volunteering (pre-covid) and numerous other volunteering opportunities within the UK. eg. for the RSPB and wildlife/forestry and local charitable organisations.
    Outside of volunteering I enjoy hiking and cycling. In July I cycled down through France into Spain during a 4 week holiday, using a mix of wild camping and paid accommodation. In September I'll be cycling the Outer Hebrides and then plan to visit some of the other Scottish Islands before heading south to the English Lake District.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I get some reaction to tree pollens (hayfever)

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback