Elliot

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    *COVID-19 Update* I stay very current on news that comes from our home and surrounding countries regarding the Coronavirus management and evolvement. I am still looking to travel and volunteer, taking all the necessary precautions to remain safe and keep others safe. I am fully vaccinated.



    My fundamental years were heavily influenced by my mother’s ardor for music-- specifically in piano and song, and my father’s practice of mixed martial arts and professional ballroom dancing. This manifested as an equal appreciation for music, which he pursues through drumming and percussion. From the early age of nine into adulthood, I was active in training under the program offered by Los Angeles County called Junior Life Guards, which is a beach side program that teaches the safety and principles of ocean safety and rescue. This sparked an interest of surfing, scuba diving, and environmental appreciation and respect which hold true to my character today. My interest in carpentry and craftsmanship originated from an opportunity in working for a company specializing in custom cabinetry, which was his first exposure into the professional workplace. Following this newfound liking of hands-on work, I sought out a similar type of experience through the company WWOOF, where he worked for 10 months on a family-owned property named Skylark Ranch in Yolo County. This experience provided me the skills and understanding of the lifestyle of working and maintaining a ranch through hard work in agricultural practice, animal husbandry, sustainability, and homesteading practices. Ten miles from the property, I took on a volunteer opportunity to serve as a wild land firefighter for one of Yolo County’s CAL-FIRE stations.

    I have general curiosity and love of travel, education, agriculture, and sustainability are things I wish to begin actively attaining and are excited to begin to explore through the medium of Work Away ( again! ). I am interested in learning the skills and practices long-used by farmers worldwide; I am interested in listening and being taught by those willing to teach; interested in putting to use my body and mind in dedication to the land, self-sufficiency, and independence.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Charity work
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Music
    Culture
    History
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Some knowledge of:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
    Animal Care
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Some of which are:
    Child care and guardianship
    Emergency care and management
    Extensive culinary practice
    Heuristic practice of agriculture and construction
    Water safety instruction
    Music theory
    English and literary devices
    Mixed martial arts/self defense
    Visual arts, specifically painting and drawing
    Holistic medicine
    Time management
    Communication
    Customer service and sales
    Outdoorsmanship
    Animal care

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I don’t mind sharing a space with any type of house pet!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies!

    • Special dietary requirements
      No special requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback