Courtney

  • Australia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (5)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling


    I enjoy yoga, kayaking, hiking, swimming, exploring new areas, adrenaline sports, volleyball, going to the beach, having a drink and dancing :)

  • Description

    I am an Australian currently living in/travelling Europe. I am not just looking for accommodation but experiences where I can help make a difference, learn new skills and meet like-minded people :)

    I moved to Europe in December 2020 and lived in Zermatt for 3 months hiking, skiing (I am still a beginner haha) and seeing some of the places around there. Then I moved to a tiny remote village in Romania for 3 months to volunteer with the local Roma children. During this time I also learned how to build things like chimneys, chicken coops, dog houses, gardens and did various woodwork and upcycling projects and sewing.

    I am an open-minded, passionate and charismatic person who enjoys learning new skills, meet new people, challenging myself and helping out in any way that I can! I see the positive in everything and I am always making the best out of every situation I face. I am a nature lover and enjoy being outdoors whether it be hiking, rock climbing, exploring new towns or hanging by the beach. I enjoy playing all sports (particularly beach volleyball, touch football, netball) and also practising yoga. I have a healthy diet and a passion for cooking, the excitement I get from going to the markets is ridiculous :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My greatest ability is my ability to get along with anyone and everyone and ensure people are enjoying themselves. I'm a people person :) I can share stories and give you a sense of Aussie culture and what it is like in the Land Down Under ;) There's honestly nothing I won't have a go at but please read below for my actual skills...

    I am imaginative, love working with my hands and very into upcycling materials I can find. I can help create art or furniture using upcycled materials or help you build something from scratch. I have worked with some power tools but I will need some guidance. In saying that I take directions very well, learn quickly and enjoy learning new skills and challenging myself...I even learnt how to build a chimney! I am also a bit of a green thumb so can help in the garden/property/orchards.

    I have a passion for food and I am a very good cook, although not professional. I can make a dish from very little and I ensure you it will taste delicious. I mainly cook Thai, Indian, Mediterranean, German/Swiss and I make a mean cheese board.

    I have also worked as a stewardess on private super yachts (not party yachts but I'd be good at that too). My main job was preparing and serving all food and beverages as well as being conversational with owners and their guests. I also helped with coming in and out of port and the driver when necessary.

    I am a qualified Primary School Teacher with 2 years of experience. My first year I was teaching Kindergarten and my second year I was teaching a Special Needs class (aged 6-12). I have also completed my International Baccalaureate Certificate and TEFL/TESOL Certificate. I am great with kids and specialise in foundational Literacy skills.

    I also founded the St Vincent's de Paul Society at my University (The University of Notre Dame, Sydney). I started from having no members to having over 100 in my first year of running events. I have organised many events at the university including people from our university and our outer-community. I have planned and organised events for children aged 5-12 years.

    I have also worked in a bar for 3 years and took on a leadership roll as as a mentor to new employees. I was entrusted to work alone during the day when only one worker was needed as well as help with finances and marketing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach you, your friend or your child/children English (TEFL/TESOL certified). I could teach basic German and French but we would kind of be learning together. I would like to further my German and French language skills. I also just enjoy learning languages so if you can teach my some of your language, fantastic!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I don't really smoke but it doesn't bother me if you do. I enjoy having an afternoon drink every so often. I am big into board games, although I can be a bit competitive...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback