Carlos

From: Chile

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Montenegro, Netherlands, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2016 - 11/10/2017

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    UPDATE (OCT 19')
    Just got to Australia, living in Melbourne at the moment looking for alternative housing with other like minded people, travelers, adventurers or just quiet nice vibes people. Pretty versatile, helpful and open to the unknown. Above average cook. Clean and tidy individual. Been helping people through workaway and other instances with things from business plan design, english teaching assistance, cooking for hundreds of people, hole digging and whatever you can imagine.

    UPDATE (MAY 18')
    Currently working in New Zealand! After an inspiring 6 months learning how to make coffee in such a cool city as Wellington I'm working as a full time Barista in Rotorua's best restaurant. Now winter is coming and it's time for me to chase the sun somewhere in Europe or south east Asia, wherever I can find a cool café/restaurant where I can keep on brewing cups of coffee or keep improving my cooking and hospitality skills. You wanna work in something together? Hit me up!
    PROFILE:
    My name is Carlos I’m very easy-going and open-minded 27-year-old male from Santiago, Chile.
    Since I was a kid I’ve always been a traveler, my dad used to be a pilot so my family and me moved a lot, mostly inside Chile. I’ve lived in places like the Atacama dessert or Patagonia and also bigger cities like Santiago or Madrid, Spain.
    But the world is just a big and exotic place and there’ll never be enough places to go, things to do or people to talk to. And that’s why I’ve been planning to make this big trip all around the world.
    I’ve had a couple of travels before (mostly backpacking across South America and Europe), but this time I want to focus on living new experiences more than just visiting famous places or postal-like landscapes. I love doing random stuff and I’ve had lot of jobs during my youth (some of them crappy and some really cool too). So I hope I can get a fun job where I could earn a nice place to sleep, get involve with the local community that I’m visiting and just meet the coolest human beings along the way.
    On my free time I like to do sports. Cycling around the city, trekking in hills, jogging and mostly playing soccer (I’m up for a quick match always I can). I’m also open to practice new sports, I’m learning to play tennis right now and I’m looking forward to learn how to surf soon.
    I’m a pretty big music geek, I’m into rock and roll classics and some more underground indie stuff too, and I like to taste a little bit of local music always that I’m traveling in a new country. Literature and cinema are very important in my life too, I’m a big fan of Hemingway, Fitzgerald and mostly South American authors.
    I basically want to keep exploring this fascinating world, keep doing the things I love to do, learn some new interesting stuff and meet tons of people. Respect all politics and religion if they have a pacific non-violent point of view. My only belief is that the universe is divine, our time here limited and life totally insane.
    Couchsurfing profile:
    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/carlos-rivera-6

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I just graduate from business school last year and I’m very into social innovation and entrepreneurship, field that I have some skills that can help in various kinds of projects. But my biggest skill it’s that I’m very versatile and I’d have fun doing mostly anything (Even better when it's something I’ve never done before).
    Right now I'm learning how to work inside a kitchen so I'm pretty eager about anything related to food and cooking.
    I'm pretty handy and I can learn things fast. I'm a people's person and I'm very emphatic. I'm patient enough to teach anything I can. I put a lot of passion and effort in the things that I do, otherwise I wouldn't do it.
    I'm pretty good talking to tourist and help them out, I've been a tourist a lot times and I know how to them feel comfortable. I can cook pretty good meals (vegan). I've been a bartender more than once and I've had a lot of jobs that involves facing clients. I have volunteered in little children summer schools and I'm very passionate of teaching and showing future generations or less fortunate people how beautiful this life can be.

    During my travels I started to develop myself as a coffee maker as I'd like to call it. It's something that I feel very passionate about and it has different layers. Right now I'm in step number 1, that is working as a professional barista and brew the best cup of coffee I can. Tomorrow is cupping, then roasting, then harvesting, then taking care of the farmers and the consumers and be an active agent in this industry, working for change and better conditions for everyone. I just enjoy what I do day by day and keep on traveling and meeting people and other enthusiasts about coffee or food is always an inspiring experience.

    Jobs that I've had lately:
    - Copenhagen, Denmark: Worked for three months at the register and also cooking tacos in a Mexican restaurant. Definitely one of the best jobs I've ever had in my life. Met a lot of nice people and I deal with different contingencies everyday, but giving good food to the people was the highlight point.
    - Budapest, Hungary: Worked for two weeks in an english speaker camp for kids in south Hungary due to a workaway opportunity, great experience working with kids mostly organizing activities and doing sports with them. Also en extra week working in a conversation program with adults.
    - Athens, Greece: Also through workaway I spent three weeks working in a language website, mostly helping with business development stuff and also translating sentences to spanish.
    - Tamraght, Morocco: Worked in a hostel as a host. Entertaining guests and helping the hostel to maintain a cool and chilled vibe all the time.
    - Berrechid, Morocco: English Language Academy. Helping with assistance in english classes (conversations) with kids and adults, getting involved with the community through language and culture.
    - M'Hamid, Morocco: Building huts with mud in the dessert. Spend over a week digging a big hole that it's going to be an underground hut one day.
    - Copenhagen, Denmark: Working in the prep kitchen of a Japanese Ramen joint (total period around 3 months). This as an official and paid work.

    *** UPDATE: I've had a couple of jobs lately but this is becoming too much, I'm more than happy to send you a proper CV if necessary :)

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Chile

  • What else ...

    I'm left handed.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I have a vegan diet. But don't worry I can always figure things out things for myself and I also love to cook and share what I cook with others. Don't need to make any changes for me or anything :)

Photos

Feedback