Arianna_Rea

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Greenland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/11/2020 - 04/06/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    248

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Due to the covid-19 situation and the difficult in traveling, I'm looking for a place where I can stay for a long period of time, i.e. months, possibly learning something new, and/or working outside, with animals and in the nature; I can also spend time on my own (I've lots of books to read), so I'm open to house/pet sitting position as well.

    In the first part of 2020 I've been in Wales and in Ireland for 7 months, from February to mid September, where I've volunteered in a b&b, in a farm (and I'd love to repeat this experience!), helped building a poly-tunnel, did some general gardening, cutting and collecting woods, carrying logs, moving bricks, moving dirt (with a wheelbarrow) painting (both insides and outside the house), and general housekeeping jobs.

    GENERAL INFO
    I like open air activities, and I'm not afraid of doing physical work or "dirty jobs", and actually this is something that I find enjoyable and funny.
    I'm using Workaway also to be inspired by others, to learn new things and acquire confidence in new skills; basically in everything, but I'm particularly curious about learning how to produce your own preserve food, especially fermented food
    GARDENING
    Through Workaway I had some experience working in the fields, planting, weeding and collecting vegetables, and other manual works such as collecting fruits (while also climbing on the trees) and cutting grass.
    FARMING
    I like being surrounded by animals, even if sometimes can be challenging to move freely without being chased and followed (this especially applies to puppies!) I haven't grown up with animals, but while volunteering I took care of, feeding and cleaning, various animals and pets: dogs, cats, rabbits, chickens (including a fighting rooster), horses, pigs, sheep, goats. I absolutely adore goats, because of their strong, independent and cheerful personality. And I'd like to have the opportunity to stay with donkeys, they seem such sweet and patient animals (maybe I can learn from them to improve my grumpy attitude :D)
    I know that working with animals isn't something that you can fit on a schedule, and that you have to be aware and available for animals needs and well being (thus putting aside your own priorities).
    CHILDCARE
    I also had some experience with children: here in Italy I worked as a volunteer with small groups of children (2-5 children at a time), age around 2-5; these are the children of immigrant women (mainly from North Africa and mainly Muslims) that came to live in Italy and have/want to learn Italian; it was twice a week and it was just one-two hours in the afternoon and it has been very difficult and required a lot of patience; but it's also been very satisfying, when you succeed in building a relationship of trust with children and you're able to communicate with them even if you don't speak the same language.
    HOSTELS
    I've a little experience in working at a hostel/B&B: my mainly duties were cleaning stuff and welcoming guests, but now I know how much effort you have to put in order to build a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere for the guests, because every detail matters: a clean bathroom and tidy beds, an elaborate or simple meal, paying attention to the questions that the guests might have but also being available for a brief talk, none of these things can be overlooked, and all of these things together indicates that you truly take care of them.
    HOUSEKEEPING
    I do also housekeeping of course; I can cook, but I'm not a very good at it (especially for the Italian standards), but I do like washing dishes!
    OTHER INFO
    I think Workaway is about being adaptable, but at the same time I don't wanna feel miserable, so if I don't feel at ease in a place, I'll move on (don't worry, if there's something really important going on and no one yet to fill the position, I will stay until the job is done).
    It doesn't matter if I like a job/task, I'll always do it at the best of my possibilities, in a respectful and honest way (I'm 34!) I'm also open to change my approach to the job.
    Through Workaway I've found out that I really like to help, but not to please!
    I've done my share of experience on Workaway to know that you cannot trust 100% the feedback on the profile; I may not have many references, but if you have enough time, and patience, to read the ones that I wrote, you can have an idea about how my "matching" Workaway experience and host should be.

    And finally, if I send you a message, please reply! I choose carefully my potential host and I write my messages with attention; I'd like to know what to do next!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Astronomy
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    Work fields, farming, taking care of children.
    Some hostel and b&b experience, help in the kitchen

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I never tried teaching Italian, but I love, love Italian language! So for sure I'd like to give it a try teaching something... About learning, well, I'm not very keen on learning languages, but it's something useful for sure, so why not! I'd love to learn some basics of Russian!

  • Age

    34

  • What else ...

    I like running and bicycling... and reading;
    I enjoy drinking craft beer;
    I cannot survive without coffee, and yogurt;
    Books made me interested in post-soviet areas;
    I think Turkey has stolen my heart;

    and travelling taught me to embrace the unexpected!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

On the canals. Milan (where I come from in Italy)
Koper, summer 2018
Kotor, summer 2018
"Bath" in the Jordan river; I'm not a believer, but this has been a very powerful moment; August 2019
Workaway in Cyprus, October 2019
While invited in an English class in Diyarbakir, Turkey; 2019, autumn
Trabzon, Turkey; 2019, autumn
Farm in Wales, March 2020
Farm in Wales, April 2020

Feedback