Help at my home, enjoy the beach and more in Andalucia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 271 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My project is a renovation of my house. There are all sorts of help needed here. From DIY, carpentry, plastering, painting, electrics, plumbing etc. And ideally I need someone with this sort of skills. But creativity, common sense and a can-do attitude could also be helpful.

    Refurbishments are usually complex processes. Require lots of patience and dedication. I am trying to do the works possibly efficient, cost effective, and environment-friendly. (I use second hand materials or I modify things instead of buying new ones.) That makes things even more complicated.
    It's important that you have positive outlook and are able to find solutions rather than problems everywhere.



    House rules
    Food is provided and it is breakfast, dinner and snacks on side. With breakfast guests are expected to help themselves whereas with dinner cooking is shared between all housemates (including me). And so is cleaning after.
    Everyone is responsible for keeping the house clean and tidy.

    If don't want to do any cooking or cleaning you can work an hour/two longer instead.

    Please, make sure you understand and accept the rules!

    If anything is unclear or you have any questions feel free to ask me in a message.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Dinner is usually time that gathers all housemates together but we can also have relaxed time after and have a drink, chat or play social games.

    Myself: I'm a cultural mixture. I am originally polish, I lived in England for few years and now I live in Spain. I'm moderately sociable. I like spending time with people, but I also appreciate having time to myself.
    I’m a flexible, relaxed but organised person. Rather humble and hardworking. I believe in modesty and simplicity of life. I like to laugh and joke around, nevertheless I'm well focused and I care about getting the job done.

    IMPORTANT
    If you've always struggled to discipline yourself to work, you tend to talk more than actually do, or you're rather clumsy, tend to break things easily or you'd forget to sort your tools out after work... Well, then staying with me is probably not for you. Unless you're looking to challenge yourself against those weaknesses.

  • Help

    Help

    Desired experience in general maintenance and building works.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is free. Private room available. Food provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Spain is a country rich in culture and character. There's always something happening around. City (Algeciras) is located by the sea. Has two beaches and big port. It isn't really a typical Spanish seaside town. It's more an industrial city. Rather poor but multicultural and authentic. You'll find here Morrocans, South-Americans, Gypsies or Eastern Europeans like me. :)
    There are two very nice hikes you can do in nearby mountains. We are also in short distance (30min bus journey) from Tarifa - biggest in Spain surfing centre and same distance to Gibraltar - British overseas territory.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have fast internet. 5g WiFi.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)


















Host ref number: 998624243516