Have fun! Northside, Cincinnati! USA

Country

United States

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in the heart of the most fun neighborhood in Cincinnati, in a house with a big garden.
    There are 8 fruit trees, and I want to expand my small vegetable garden. I need help in the garden, and general yard maintenance, as well as some minor items in the house. Some more work detailed in the section below.

    I'm glad to show you different areas around where I live. I'm a long time participant of a similar website so I'm accustomed to showing people my city! I have also worked as a Workawayer in three countries, so I know what it's like. I recently took a long trip (14 months) so I hope to receive some guests as well as I was received. Don't worry, if you want space and to not hang out much, that's alright too!

    If you're here at the right time, you can see some of the summer festivals we have here in my neighborhood and other parts of the city! Or a number of other fun experiences. The local bluegrass band, hear some jazz, folk, etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I've grown many varieties of vegetables in the past 5 years, with different styles of gardens. If you're interested in this, there is much to learn.

    I love to cook. I'm not vegetarian, but cook mostly vegetarian. I can also do vegan food easily. My "specialties" are Indian food, different types of rice dishes, bean and lentil preparations, salads that can act as the main course, some Israeli food. So I'm glad to cook together if you'd like!
    I can also teach you how to ferment food (Lacto-fermentation) such as sauerkraut varieties, salsa, hot sauce, kvass.

    I have many friends in the neighborhood, who you're welcome to meet, as I see them often.
    I enjoy playing guitar and drums, and am happy to play music with you, or we can just go out to hear some live music.
    I also enjoy hiking, bicycling, reading, playing soccer, frisbee, and anything fun or relaxing.

  • Help

    Help

    I want help with yard chores, making new garden beds for vegetables, and some other items outside.
    I can also use help inside the house with painting, general cleaning, and some basic carpentry work.

    I also enjoy language exchanges with native speakers of Spanish, Portuguese, and Russian.

    If you have a different skill you can use to teach me or help me improve (yoga, martial arts, music, etc), let's talk about it! I do a bit of each of those things I listed, but maybe there is potential to learn more from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Portuguese, basic Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom in a quiet, large apartment. Other than the bedroom, the other spaces are shared with me. The apartment is part of a house. There is a completely separate/independent apartment on the 1st floor with nice people. My apartment is on the 2nd + 3rd floor. You'll find it very comfortable. Fully equipped kitchen, and everything you may need in a normal living situation.

    Food will be provided. It will be a combination of me cooking, us cooking together, or you cooking on your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In 5 minutes you can walk to the bus stop which takes you to other neighborhoods in Cincinnati. I live in the neighborhood, Northside, which is one of the liveliest and most eclectic neighborhoods of the city. There is a park and forest nearby, and more. We can take weekend trips to some beautiful places, or nearby cities (ask me about this before arriving and I'll let you know options!)

    If you're looking to party and get drunk often, this is not the place for you. However, there is a brewery in the neighborhood, and many more places to hangout at, with live music 6-7 nights a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 996971678971