Join our family and live in a small town on the east coast of Iceland called Neskaupstaður

Country

Iceland

Favourited 251 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of six (thirteen if you count all our pets as well). We have Gunni the dad, who works at sea. Brynja the mom, a teacher currently on sick leave, Villi the teenager who is 13, Dagbjört the athletic who is 10, Eva who is a 5 year old little prankster and last but not least Júlíana who is turning three this summer.
    We are a family who loves to “hygge” (yes, we lived in Denmark), and enjoy the quiet live on the east side of Iceland.
    We have a small dog called Mandla, a Maltese that loves to cuddle and take short walks.
    We travel a lot to the “capital of the north” Akureyri where Brynja’s parents live and there we enjoy everything that the town has to offer.
    We live in a small town on the east coast of Iceland called Neskaupstaður. It has a population of 1600 people. There is wonderful nature by the seaside and the mountains, we can go hiking, kayaking, swimming, golfing and lots more. There is beautiful nature all around. The sun shines almost around the clock in the summertime and in the winter there is of course the Aurora Borealis.
    we also have a coffehouse, museums a local pub and resturats where you could meet other locals

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you wold get a chance to learn to speak icelandic. you wold also get a great appourtunity to get to know our coulter. Get to know the real iceland and icelanders if we could say.

  • Help

    Help

    we would need some help around the house doing some basic chores. A little help with babysitting and some cooking for everyone in the family. We just moved to a big house whit a garden that needs a tender hend and some love

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you would get your own room whit a bed, closet for your clothes, a nightstand and a lamp. it is small but cozy, whit a large window whit a great view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    in your time off you can go hiking, swimming or take a bus to the nearby fjords and towns. Egilsstaðir is a place in about 60 min diving distens whit loads of entertainment. We have an extra car that you are welkom to use

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 995823561426