Would love someone to do some gardening and creating a website in Bacalar, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 55 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a Mexican guy, who loves living and learning every single day.
    I live and travel with my border collie Luna, and we've fallen in love with Bacalar. We think that is the best place in the world.
    It's an ancient little town, on the banks of a 40 mile long blue freshwater lagoon. You can swim every day in stunning blue waters,

    The town is full of art and life, and has not been overrun by modern tourism. It has an incredible identity and a community which cares about the music, art, the environment, local history... it's awesome.

    The Caribbean being the 3 most important tourist destination in the world, the possibility of learning and having contact with multiculturalism is great.

    I have a nice garden. I need someone to come and build raised beds and other things to help me grow vegetables and fruit. I already have some fruit trees.

    I also need a web page built - I'm involved with local tourism and I would like a professional page. I have great contacts but need some digital skills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bacalar is a beautiful and unique little town. It is small, and definitely still very local, but it also has huge energy and confidence.

    We live and work near the centre of the town, a 10 min walk from the main park and the lagoon. We will be working to develop a sustainable, healthy, fresh vegetarian food company. It will be a chance to talk to local farmers and food producers and to become part of the local community. The focus here is on music, art and spirituality. As an ancient Mayan city, this powerful little place has been here for 1000s of years and you can feel and see the history embedded all around.
    The lagoon is a stunning place. White sands, crystal blue waters and sailing boats. There are many chances to learn to sail and to go for local trips. Culturally, this is a busy town. Musicians, writers and artists of all kinds come here. There is a constant stream of talks and workshops covering an incredible range of modern and provoking themes. Workaways will have a chance to engage with this and become part of this community as they wish. We hope to be providing a healthier and more sustainable diet here, to add to the incredible Mexican food already on offer.
    Working with us you'll have the chance to learn about food, farming, our business. In doing so, in this small population, you'll have a real chance to make lasting relationships and meaningful change.

  • Help

    Help

    A bit of effort in the garden! I'll need some input on how to put the garden together, and some good work to help build it. In the house, helping to keep clean and be part of the household.

    For some digital skills, I'll need someone who can help me put together a simple website.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaways will stay either in a room in a house, or in a tent in our garden.

    Bacalar is a residential town, and very local. This is a quiet neighbourhood, and is a 10 min walk to the centre of town or the lagoon. In the larger rooms they may be sharing with another workaway, and tents will be for one person.

    I will provide the bedding and tents. If the volunteer has their own they will also be welcome to use them. We will offer at least 1per day and maybe 2....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    big land.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a beautiful dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 994456254722