Share, exchange, learn creatively in nature in wild and unknown Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a secluded universe, a 14 hectare permaculture project completely surrounded by green hills in the middle of two mountain ranges and close to the mediterranean sea.

    We're a young couple, Dshamila (27) and Enea (30), a furniture maker and a designer/artist. We're taking care of this wonderful place while bringing it closer to our vision. We work on being mostly self sufficient on food, energy and water. We plant as much as we can, we try to have a low impact, we like to live creative, we collaborate with artists, craftswomen/men, architects, designers and people of all colours, we host workshops and will offer an artist residency in the near future.

    We shift our time and energy between our farm, developing furniture in our well equipped wood workshop (a second one for other materials is in the making) and other projects here and abroad.
    We're situated in the wild and unknown Lunigana in northern Tuscany, Italy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life here is in synergy with the wild nature surrounding us.

    We work with many natural materials such as wood (with ancient joining techniques and natural home made glues), lime, iron, clay and others, we design and build things, we like to share our knowledge and learn new things.

    Especially Dshamila is a good and patient teacher and loves to share her passion for wood and trees.
    We love to cook, to collect wild herbs.

    There is a coming and going of interesting people, artists, craftswomen/men, friends from all over the world.

    We love to discover our surroundings, to visit places and cities and to swim in beautiful spots in the sea or crystal clear rivers. We love this place, this region, it's nature and people.
    We have a lot of interesting books on natural medicine, gardening, herbs, plants and mushrooms, cooking, architecture and design, woodwork, and and and

  • Help

    Help

    We love the idea of sharing our wonderful corner of the universe with interesting people in exchange for some help with the thousand tasks of the place and our thousand projects.

    Depending on the time of the year we are mostly hard working outside. We need fit helpers who love to stay outside.

    For example picking olives in November, pruning the olive trees in early April,
    completing a new large workshop for other materials than wood in June 2019 by opening ancient arches, plastering the walls with natural materials as clay and lime, we'd need some help with electric help and lights as well,
    expanding our home by opening and enlarging windows, building a new wooden floor and a new roof in September and October 2019,
    to build a Glasshouse to passively heat the new workshop, part of the house and to prepare our seedlings and keep some more exotic plants and an Engawa in 2020,
    planting, picking, conserving and eating beautiful vegetables all year round,
    taking care of our natural pool (includes swimming in it) and water system, we plan to create a natural lake to complete the water system which means being completely self sufficient in water for everything without using electricity
    take care of our two almost wild horses and three cats,
    plant useful trees in winter, prune fruit trees and vine plants in March, pick fruits, make conserves,
    weeding and thorns elimination,
    bake pizza and bread in one of our self constructed ovens,
    and and and..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, German, English. Some French, Spanish, Portuguese and Nepali.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in our guest house which eventually is shared with our other guests, it has a full equipped kitchen, a living room, two double rooms and a dormitory.

    Please leave the room/house like you found it, we appreciate some cleaning before leaving.

    The preparation of meals and cleaning of the dishes is shared, we love to cook with the best and most natural ingredients which we have a big respect for, Italy is famous for its food and for the quality of its products.

    We love to cook what the season offers, mostly vegan but we eat everything. We have no problem adapting to allergies (please let us know in advance).

    We can show you many wild herbs around the house, we try to grow special varieties of vegetables, we have a small mill for grains and make our own flour for bread or other things to bake.

    Drinking water comes from our own spring which overflows into the swimming pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is really in the forest, the next bigger village is 4km away, there you can find restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, schools and a hospital.
    At least once a week we go to buy groceries in a close city, usually we combine this with an afternoon at the beach, a stroll through a city or a hike in the region.
    Public transportation is available from the next village (45 minutes by foot, eventually we can drop you there).
    From there you can reach tourist destinations such as Lucca, Pisa and the Cinque Terre.
    Within 15 minutes of walk you can find a magic waterfall.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 25 hours a week, some days full, some part time and some days off depending on the period and help

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 993137227663