Experience our way of life and learn about jam making and more in Friesland, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Stay with us in our beautiful 100-year old orchard in the middle of Friesland, Amsterdam Lake District! You can help us weeding, mowing, pruning and picking fruit, chopping wood. And in summer season receiving guests and pelgrims on the small campsite in the orchard, as we are situated along ' het Jabikspad" one of the pilgrim routes to Santiago de Compostella! In reward you can learn the dutch way-of-living, enjoy the beautiful nature in Friesland with the lakes, rivers etc. and learn to make jams, chutney and lemonade from all the fruit from the orchard.
    We are living with our 3 children and dog called Mazzel on this beautiful spot.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll experience the dutch way-of-living, get to learn the principles pruning fruittrees and making jam, chutney and lemonade. You can enjoy the beautiful nature of Friesland, dive in the lakes or in the river round the corner and bike around! You can even take some sailinglessons nearby!

  • Help

    Help

    When you want to stay with us, you should not be scared to get dirty hands and to get tired, sometimes it is hard work, but there's also enough time to enjoy a cold drink and chill under the apple trees! We expect you to be able to work together but also independent. There's always enough work around; weeding, mowing, pruning and picking the fruit. And also general maintenance; some painting, chopping en building (especially when you have experience building a pool, please join us, because we're planning to build our own low budget nature swimming pool!;-)))
    In the summer season we have a small nature-campsite were people can bring their tent and put it under the appletrees, so more people can enjoy the beautiful old orchard! In those months it is very helpfull when you want to receive guests when we're not around and do some cleaning work if necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll sleep in a well equiped, cosy tent, with normal bed etc. You use the facilities of the nature-campsite and we share meals. If you prefer cooking on your own we have facility for that, no problem.
    Because we've only one tent, you can come as a couple or alone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As our place is situated in the middle of Friesland, its the perfect base for exploring this "AmsterdamLakeDistrict", there are a lot of cycleroutes and the bus and trainstop are very close-by. Visisting our beautiful "wadden"islands and the famous "Waddenzee" is easy from our place; we'll help you around no problem!
    In our village there is a shop were you can buy almost everything you can think of, and a nice pub. There is a place for swimming in the river or you can use our supboard for supping. And of course here is always time and space to make a campfire and enjoy hanging around!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 992481689114