updated   Last minute

Join our international family in world-renowned ski resort, Val d'Isère, France

  • Favourited 134 times
  • Last activity: 17 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *********************

    Last minute opportunity: unfortunately our workawayer from winter season 2023/24 will go home soon, and we'll be looking for someone for just a few short weeks to finish off the season. Dates would ideally be April 13th - May 5th, but we can be a bit flexible.

    We still have plenty of snow in Val d'Isère, so you can definitely still ski during this time. BUT: there's also 2 weeks of school holidays (13-28 April) where will need you help the most. This is usually about 4 hours in the morning, and you can then ski the afternoons. Ski passes aren't cheap, so please take that into consideration.

    *********************


    We are an international family - Murray from New Zealand, Christina from Germany and our son Léon was born in France.

    We live in Val d'Isère, one of Europe's most famous ski resorts. We live here year-round and are mainly looking for someone to help with Léon (born August 2017) when we are busy with work. Léon is deaf but can hear with cochlear implants. He's a very energetic child and never stops, so being energetic yourself will make the task a lot more enjoyable! :-)

    We won't expect more than 20 hours a week on average, although there might be weeks with a few more hours (up to 30 during school holidays) and weeks with less hours (often only as little as 12 hours on school weeks - we'll make sure it'll balance out!) You'll eat meals either with us or we'll make sure there is something available for you (although lunch may only be a sandwich). Unfortunately, there are no cooking facilities for you to prepare your own food in our "winter quarters".

    There will be plenty of time for you to explore the mountains in summer or go skiing in winter.

    Very happy to answer any other questions!

    Oh yes, I (Christina) have done a fair bit of wwoofing myself, so hope to understand and meet a traveler's needs! :-)

    Hope to hear from you! :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're a very international family, between us we speak 3 languages (and some French sign language). Murray is a chef with over 25 years experience. We run an online cookery school in summer and help to manage a small hotel for a British tour operator in the winter. So you will not only meet us, but also about 45 other staff members in winter - usually in their early twenties.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly looking after Léon when he is not at school and we're working; very occasionally help in the house (like maybe hanging up laundry, tidying up after playtime etc, but won't expect actual cleaning).

    Down to the task of looking after Léon who is pretty impulsive (basically like a puppy running after butterflies), it is preferable if you have experience with young children and are slightly more mature yourself. You don't need to be a special needs teacher in their 40s, but we feel someone as young as 18 could easily get carried away by the temptations of a ski resort and then struggle to find a good balance between the fun bits and the tasks at hand.

    It helps if you are a keen, good and responsible skier as we'd be happy for you to spend time on the slopes with Léon on his days off school which makes the whole experience more fun for you.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room in the attic of our apartment (no proper door!), and shared bath room. Meals with us during staff dinner or provided - lunches may only be a sandwich.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Val d'isere is one of the best ski resorts in the world and in summer it's an amazing place for hiking, cycling, mountain biking etc. They say people come for the winters and stay for the summers, and that's exactly what happened for us.

    Winter seasons are a definite highlight with hundreds of kilometers of slopes to explore! Just a heads up: ski pass prices aren't cheap, currently at 60€ a day or just under 1000€ for a seasonal pass. Just something to consider when you're budgeting your trip! ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 25 hours a week on average. This will balance out over the time you're staying with us. Definitely 2 days off, sometimes more!

Host ref number: 991413634672

Feedback


Stay in a historical Chateau, feed our cat and help with gardening in South Aveyron, France
Help me with gardening in Brittany, France