Volunteer outside in the gardens and inside in my home, to be as sustainable and ecological as we can, South of Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Silvia, I live in a small house with a nice garden/grounds with various fruit trees including mostly olive trees. I have several hobbies including architecture, turned the ancient construction techniques of ecological and sustainable. I love inventing, designing and creating sustainable and ecological solutions for the houses we live in. Love, practical and teaching climbing for several years. I love being in nature and I try to find alternatives to a lifestyle that is not respectful of the planet Earth and those who live it and the trend of this society to isolate individuals. So I'm careful to consumption, reducing their waste, using non-polluting products etc and together with other people, friends in the area, we seek to create a network of mutual support to meet our needs and our pleasures and put into practice the gift economy. I love sharing the space where I live and open it to persons travelling with which there is always a valuable exchange of knowledge and experiences. I speak pretty good Spanish, English and something French.
    I live with my 2 son ( 5 years, their father Alessandro, now there is a dog, 3 cats and hens. Often pass for the House other people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Generally speaking the help requested concerns the management of the House and grounds although there may be some specific things things required by the time the volunteer comes..

    So with regard to land the help varies depending on the season and the experiences of volunteers: Garden, pruning of trees, planting, grass cutting, cutting firewood, arrangement of prunings and timber.

    As regards the House there may be to do maintenance or cleaning of the place or help in cooking. I would like to build a compost toilet and place a small wooden house with eco-friendly techniques that I have in the soil (clean it, put insulation, making the floor, put a layer of tiles or other bathroom and kitchen facilities, ...). So I might in the future need help in these tasks. Then I have a little child so sometimes I need someone to take care of him if I can't. Twice a month we do bread in the oven so even in this some help may be required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, english, little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In my house there is a big double bedroom with its own bathroom; in summer time also there is possible to put up a tent in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My house is in the countryside south of Rome. From the House in 15 minutes walk to the station and by train in 40 minutes you will arrive in Rome.
    The place where i live is an area called Castelli Romani is an area very rich in history as evidenced by the many remains of temples and ancient buildings scattered in the territory. Near the House, there is a crater lake, Lake Nemi, bathing place frequented since ancient times, as evidenced by the remains of a temple dedicated to the goddess Diana. Other larger Lake is Lake of Castel Gandolfo surrounded by beautiful Woods. Very interesting are the walks you can do in the area high over the Lakes, mainly in wooded areas and very rich in history: a walk on the ancient Via Sacra, on Mount Artemisio, ai Pratoni del Vivaro for those who love horse riding. Another interesting note is the town of Ariccia, known for Fraschette where at night you eat pork and drink the wine of the Castelli Romani.Also from the House with a car in half an hour you reach the sea. in an hour you arrive at the Park of Monte Circeo, sea area and very beautiful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

REST AFTER CLIMB
CREATION ON THE RIVER
CLIMBING IN SARDINIA
MY SON AIRO



Host ref number: 991186386978